Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I wanted to make cupcakes with this recipe, and I followed the directions on the back of the box of Hershey's cocoa exactly. Not a bad flavor(though not chocolaty enough), but the texture was just weird--very spongy and a bit dry. I know I didn't over-bake these, so I don't know what could have gone wrong, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good recipe and super easy too. It's pretty much fool-proof. I searched all around for a good chocolate cake recipe that I could use as my "go to" recipe, and this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla925

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Pay absolutely no attention to the few negative reviews. They insist they are not doing anything wrong, but I insist they are. This cake is moist, delicious and full of chocolate flavor. It is by far our favorite cake recipe, and has been for more than 25 years. One hint to the naysayers: You must measure your ingredients carefully, and do not Whip or Beat the hot water into the batter. The recipe says stir, so stir. Not once has my batter overflowed the pan, and I've made this cake at least 100 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovecakes
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy and delicious!!! This is WAY better than boxed cake. It is very soft and moist. This will be my go to chocolate cake recipe from now on. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I really liked the cake but with the frosting, some said it was "too chocolaty"....if that's possible! Next time, I would just use another frosting. Even I thought it was a little intense and that's rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I wanted to try a chocolate cake, it turned out great my wife and everyone at my job love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEHDGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
i made this from the recipe on the side of the cocoa can and then an AR member pointed out the recipe was on the site and i had to review it. i didnt make the frosting only the cake. this cake is a keeper! im not a scratch baker i always use a box cqke mix. no more! well not for chocolate. this recipe is easy and not intimidating and came together beautifully. its moist and rich and even though i frosted it with a canned coconut pecan frosting i dont think it really needs more than a light dust of powdered sugar or a simple glaze. totally proud of myself and my clients at work ate it up. five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I am rating just the cake portion. So good! Not too chocolately or sweet. Fluffy and just melts in your mouth. I halved the recipe to make a 6 inch double layer cake, baked for 30 minutes. The cake came out of the pan perfectly, no breaking, cracking or crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is by far the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten. My friend turned me onto this recipe that she found on the back of the Hershey's container. My family loves it but refuses to let me frost them ever again. They say it is so moist and good they don't want the frosting to ruin the cake. Make it exactly as it calls for and be careful not to OVER FILL! Never more that 2/3's maximum in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Been making this recipe for years. Perfect every time! Batter will be runny, but don't change a thing and you'll have a moist, perfectly chocolate cake every time! This chocolate icing is excellent also! Just the right amount of chocolate in both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States