Hermit Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This recipe is fabulous--just like I remember as a child! Perfect amount of sweetness and spice. I had a little extra coffee, so I soaked the raisins in it before adding them. I dropped them by the heaping tablespoon onto a baking sheet and they spread to the perfect thickness and size. A real big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di-Ellen Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This reminds me of the hermits my great grand aunt made for us when I was little. Simple, yet delicious! Thank you, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is one of my favorite cookies! The recipe is easy to make and I will add this to my recipe box as they got many compliments. Do not over cook as they become a softer, less cake-like cookie. Making them as bars and then cutting into cookie squares is just how I remember them as a child. Yummy hermits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We love these cookies! I make them into cookies rather than bars and I took the advice of one of the reviewers. I omitted the egg and dropped the white sugar to 3/4 cup. I have never made them any other way, so I don't know if there is a difference in taste. I make these when my husband and I feel fat and we need to lose a little weight. They don't help us lose weight, but they are a whole bunch better for us than Oreos, our other favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Made these cookies a while ago and I must say they we're the best cookies I have ever tasted!! Everyone who tried them loved them and asked when I was going to make more. The cinnamon and raisins give them a sweet ness without being too sweet. I would love to make these again and will if my friends have anything to say about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These were OK. Not the best cookie ever, but not the worst. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and I felt they lacked something. They were not super sweet or super flavorful, just kind of average. So I made the "Vanilla Glaze" from this website and drizzled it over the top of the cookies. This fixed them and made them really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent Hermits! I did refrigerate for about 45 minutes before cooking and they came out perfect. Added some extra raisins :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These bars are wonderful. I did not change a thing in this recipe. They seemed to have the perfect blend of spices and I love the texture. I loved the "biscotti" way of making them. I have enough molasses left to make them one more time. Thank you AUNT MAMIE for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These are just like the Hermit's we had as kids and we LOVE them !! I do as many have suggested and add an extra 1/2 cup of flour and they come out perfect! To make it easier, we just drop balls of the dough and make round cookies. This just saves a little extra time. This recipe rocks !! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was OK. I made it for a high school bake sale because the reviews were so good but then I was disappointed. If I had to describe it, without the raisins, the texture reminds me of the walls of a gingerbread house we make at Christmas. As for the taste, it tastes like a graham cracker but with a lot less sugar and a lot less crispy. This is a soft cookie but crispy on edges. I drizzled some white almond bark on top and woh did it make a difference. It made a good presentation and actually brought out the flavors of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States