Hermit Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and thank you for sharing. I would not change anything other than I should make it more often. This reminds me of my Memere which always loved a good hermit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made exactly as written, except that I divided my dough into 3 strips, so baked for 20 minutes instead of the recommended time. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent! No changes needed except to cook for 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were good - not like the hermit bars I remember from the school cafeteria of my childhood - these are a bit cakier and not as spicy - but I felt these had decent flavor. Only change was to add about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and I shaped mine into two wider logs instead of four for wider cookies. Next time I think I will try half brown sugar and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
After reading all the other reviews I decided to make half the flour whole wheat, use an extra 3/4 cup of flour, add 1 teaspoon ginger, double the amount of raisins, add 3/4 cup of chopped pecans and chill the dough for an hour before shaping the bars. Fantastic cookies! My husband loved them. They were just like the ones I used to make in a little local bakery when I was in high school. I put colored sprinkles on the long bars before baking them. So pretty and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Love these cookies! I found the spices to be adequate but next time I will increase by one half and add some walnuts. (just a personal choice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are very tasty... just finished 2 with a big glass of milk! I had a bit of a challenge with the "4 long strips". I won't even describe what the first one looked like. I ended up making 1" balls, flatten slightly with a fork and made as cookies instead. I did add the extra flour as well. I also soaked the raisins first. I would certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My husband and I were served Hermit cookies at a B&B in Maine last year, and we loved them. We are from the midwest and had never heard of these. Finally had a chance yesterday to try and make them myself and used this recipe. I did replace 1/2 cup white sugar with brown sugar, and replaced 1 t gr cloves with 1/2 t gr cloves and 1/2 t nutmeg. I also glazed them with a vanilla glaze. Husband, kids, brother, and father all loved them and insisted I make more for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made these with currants instead of raisins and dusted them with powdered sugar after cutting. Recommend cooking them closer to 12 minutes than 15 - they get hard/try to burn. Chewy is how you want these. Will make these again - thinking pecans, dried sour cherries and possibly mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have never tried these cookie bars before. They looked as if they were undoubtedly tasty at the store. Though addicting! And dense. (which I like) I added the extra 3/4 cup of flour (used white whole wheat), and added the ginger also. Maybe I will add more spices next time as well as the ginger. I really want to get that spicy flavor. They came out like a cakey texture, which was "lighter" on the stomach. I love that soft gooey spot in the center! Delicious, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States