Hermit Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and thank you for sharing. I would not change anything other than I should make it more often. This reminds me of my Memere which always loved a good hermit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made exactly as written, except that I divided my dough into 3 strips, so baked for 20 minutes instead of the recommended time. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent! No changes needed except to cook for 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were good - not like the hermit bars I remember from the school cafeteria of my childhood - these are a bit cakier and not as spicy - but I felt these had decent flavor. Only change was to add about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and I shaped mine into two wider logs instead of four for wider cookies. Next time I think I will try half brown sugar and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
After reading all the other reviews I decided to make half the flour whole wheat, use an extra 3/4 cup of flour, add 1 teaspoon ginger, double the amount of raisins, add 3/4 cup of chopped pecans and chill the dough for an hour before shaping the bars. Fantastic cookies! My husband loved them. They were just like the ones I used to make in a little local bakery when I was in high school. I put colored sprinkles on the long bars before baking them. So pretty and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Love these cookies! I found the spices to be adequate but next time I will increase by one half and add some walnuts. (just a personal choice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are very tasty... just finished 2 with a big glass of milk! I had a bit of a challenge with the "4 long strips". I won't even describe what the first one looked like. I ended up making 1" balls, flatten slightly with a fork and made as cookies instead. I did add the extra flour as well. I also soaked the raisins first. I would certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My husband and I were served Hermit cookies at a B&B in Maine last year, and we loved them. We are from the midwest and had never heard of these. Finally had a chance yesterday to try and make them myself and used this recipe. I did replace 1/2 cup white sugar with brown sugar, and replaced 1 t gr cloves with 1/2 t gr cloves and 1/2 t nutmeg. I also glazed them with a vanilla glaze. Husband, kids, brother, and father all loved them and insisted I make more for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made these with currants instead of raisins and dusted them with powdered sugar after cutting. Recommend cooking them closer to 12 minutes than 15 - they get hard/try to burn. Chewy is how you want these. Will make these again - thinking pecans, dried sour cherries and possibly mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have never tried these cookie bars before. They looked as if they were undoubtedly tasty at the store. Though addicting! And dense. (which I like) I added the extra 3/4 cup of flour (used white whole wheat), and added the ginger also. Maybe I will add more spices next time as well as the ginger. I really want to get that spicy flavor. They came out like a cakey texture, which was "lighter" on the stomach. I love that soft gooey spot in the center! Delicious, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States