Hermano Roberto's Simple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I really enjoy this salsa but I sometimes add a bit of cayenne pepper and other things for a little spice. I added some chipotle powder for a little heat, but the flavor and texture is great. Thanks for sharing such a simple, but effective recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
this is sooo easy to make. the only change i made was i didn't use so much cumin. it tasted to much like chili not salsa. Otherwise best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was delicious, and SO easy to make! This will be a fun recipe to play around with/ change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've long suspected the key to the awesome salsa at my favorite authentic Mexican restaurants was canned tomatoes, so I was excited to try this. I made it twice: the first time, I followed it exactly. The thing about salsa is that it's very subjective and easy to tweak, so I gave this five stars, even though I found it a little too soupy, a little too hot and it was missing something... which I realized was onions and garlic. So I tried it again: draining the tomatoes, adding two tablespoons of diced onions, a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and taking it down to one jalapeno. Success! This is a great recipe to tweak for your own tastes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN5502

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this except I roasted the peppers. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is fabulous salsa. I do not care for pepper black or white and I do not like hot foods, ironically I loved this. I was so tempting to reduce spices or use some fresh garlic. Don't change the spices. I used 1.5 cups of fresh garden tomatoes peeled and chopped and then added a can of petite diced tomatoes to make the 28 oz size. For the jalepenos I used about a 1/2 can drained 4oz size of diced jalepenos. They are already prepared. The salsa was kind of like the restaurant salsa, they serve with chips, if it was completely fresh. I have made a lot of salsas and this one is really good. I put it in my Vitamix on about speed 7 or 8 for 7 seconds. Thanks, Roberto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I can't believe more people haven't tried this. It is fantastic! I used fresh garlic and salt insted of garlic salt, and also added some chopped onion. Will surely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
So simple yet so delicious! It has a nice amount of heat, without popping your eyes out. The only tweak I made was to add a bit of salt since I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used diced tomatoes, so I only had to blend for about 8-10 seconds. I made some baked tortilla chips with whole wheat tortillas. So good! I gave hubby a taste and all he could say was WOW! This is a keeper! It's a nice recipe to have on hand when unexpected guests stop by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States