Herman Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I used regular sourdough starter, along with whole wheat flour and honey. This resulted in great tasting fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
These pancakes are really good! They do have the sourdough taste, but not overpowering. I didn't use the herman starter, but another from this site that I had made. I think maybe next time I may try adding some vanill extract for a little more flavor, but overall a great recipe! The family loved them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
A good solid pancake. There is absolutely no reason to ever purchase boxed pancake mix again. Fluffed up nicely, tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCPMFAN60103

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
These are really good. Good way to use starter if you are not planning on making bread. I used another starter not Herman's starter. Used just 1 TBSP of oil, 1/3 cup of sweetened applesauce, omitted sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. For the flour, used 1/2 cup of oat flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour. Very good pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prcutie71
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These are the BEST pancakes I have ever had!!! MOVE OVER BISQUICK!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prcutie71

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Holy these are good. I have been searching for the perfect pancake recipe for forever and just happened to stumble upon this one by accident. I was simply looking for a new way to use my sourdough starter other than make sourdough bread and decided to try these. The texture is wonderful and the sourdough adds a nice subtle zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Used my Amish Friendship Bread starter for this recipe. The pancakes had a wonderfully light and fluffy consistency. The flavor was nice but next time I will try adding a teaspoon of vanilla as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These were good, nice and fluffy. The only changes I made were that I used my regular starter, used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added some pecans and walnuts because I was feeling a little nutty. So they turned out good and I had them with the "absolute best pancake syrup" from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Light and fluffy with a mild sourdough flavor. I made a double recipe the night before and let it sit for about 20 minutes before cooking. Turned out great and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Shaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Sooooo good. Light and fluffy. Just perect. My family requests them EVERY saturday morning. We will never buy a box pancake mix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States