Herman Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
These are really good. Good way to use starter if you are not planning on making bread. I used another starter not Herman's starter. Used just 1 TBSP of oil, 1/3 cup of sweetened applesauce, omitted sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. For the flour, used 1/2 cup of oat flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour. Very good pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is THE BEST pancake I've ever had! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used the sourdough starter I already had. I made my starter about two years ago from the concord grapes growing in my yard. That was the only thing that I changed in this recipe. Thanks for this DELICIOUS recipe!!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great..I've experimented with different extracts,rasins,cinnamon,ect. Always come out great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookn bob

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Great pancakes! I made them with my starter that I use to make San Fran. sourdough bread and my guests were so happy! Great recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is a keeper. These puffed up nice. I added a grated gala apple, and 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla. Although I used 1 cup Sourdough Starter, without sugar. Amish Starter is the new Herman Starter. And I think Herman changed it's name LOL. Good Recipe that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These turned out wonderfully well. I'm personally not a fan of pancakes, but my children love them. I had 3 cups of Herman to use up, so I figured I'd make a giant batch. After the first pancake was done, I tried it, just to sample the flavor. i was impressed. I won't be buying pancakes miz anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Yummy! I did add some vanilla extract like another reviewer suggested. My husband and I loved these pancakes. I had to stake my claim or he would have eaten them all. Next time I plan to add something extra like chocolate chips or blueberries for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Holy these are good. I have been searching for the perfect pancake recipe for forever and just happened to stumble upon this one by accident. I was simply looking for a new way to use my sourdough starter other than make sourdough bread and decided to try these. The texture is wonderful and the sourdough adds a nice subtle zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were good, used my Herman starter.. I got too much sourdough flavor for my taste. But was a good, fluffy pancake... probably would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4you

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Used my Amish Friendship Bread starter for this recipe. The pancakes had a wonderfully light and fluffy consistency. The flavor was nice but next time I will try adding a teaspoon of vanilla as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States