Herman Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am new to using sourdough. This tastes even better then anything I've had in a restaurant & I actually made it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
First thing I ever made with my "new" sourdough/herman starter! Wonderful! I must admit to substituting butter for oil in the recipe, but that was a personal flavor choice. I will say to previous reviewers who thought it was too thin..how thick was your starter? A thin starter will likely need extra flour, whereas mine, which is very thick allowed me to follow the recipe as written. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
amazing recipe, although I did not have milk i substituted dry and water and my own starter. It was so light and fluffy and DELICIOUS!! I recommend using a butter pecan syrup also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These were really good, I used regular sourdough starter and the sourdough flavor did come through but not overpoweringly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Lovely flavor; nice chewiness, yet fluffy. Added blueberries, flax seed, ground oats, wheat germ and extra milk. I would definitely make extra sourdough starter to use specifically for this recipe! Thank you Saundra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are great, just make sure to leave the starter out overnight and don't cook them too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I used my own starter and added some vanilla. It was great. As my starter is pretty young, Im sure it will only get better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
wow thank you so much for another use for my starter, these were easy to make and turned out fabulous. I used banana in place of the oil and added chopped green apples with some cinammon and vanilla extract yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Absolutely perfect! I doubled this recipe (as to make a large amount for a couple days worth) and I did not have one single problem. I made two substitutes, I used half whole wheat flour and melted butter instead of vegetable oil. These pancakes cooked up fluffy and were just.......AWESOME. I am so tickled that I had a sourdough starter that not only turned out, but made great pancakes. Win/win! NOTE: Two things--If you do use half or all whole wheat flour, make sure that you let the batter sit for a couple minutes as to soak up some of the liquid and puff up a bit. It makes for a better pancake. ALSO, I did not use the sourdough starter called for in this recipe. I had one already done, the Sourdough-Starter by Esther Nelson, which is also on this site. EDITED: Half of the double batch I made last night is gone this morning. We LOVED these pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I have super sour starter that makes amazing sourdough bread but using a whole cup of it made the pancakes wayyyy too tangy and off tasting. However, the texture of these pancakes is SUPERIOR to all other homemade ones I've tried. I'm going to try w/a friends starter and re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States