Herman Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Reminded me of hawaiian sweet rolls when made with amish friendship starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I let these rise twice, as another reviewer suggested (mostly because the dough was so sticky and there was no shaping it, so I thought maybe it would firm up a little, it did, a little). They were good warm out of the oven (what homemade bread isn't?), but I have to say I don't love the texture, it's very coarse, not soft like I'd like rolls to be. And I doubt I'll have any takers for the 3 that are leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CantHelpMyself
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
4.5 stars. I did use my own established starter (made with WW flour) which I let come to room temp. Starters have yeast so I only added 1/2 tsp add't. Because Herman starter uses sugar I added 1 T of honey to compensate. Subbed 1C of the AP flour with bread flour. For veg oil I used 2T olive oil & 2T melted butter. I did add a tsp of Natures Seasoning instead of a mere pinch of salt. The dough came together real nice but I let it rise once on its own until doubled, then shaped and let rise again. I used a cast iron skillet to bake them (thanks for the idea Ellie May). I did weigh each pc of dough and fit 14 (little over 1 ounce ea.) in lightly oiled skillet and divided remaining dough into 6 - 2oz rolls and froze those in a smaller pan to thaw and rise some other time. I needed to brush tops with melted butter a couple times as they were baking up rather pale looking. Mine took a bit longer to fully bake and I think I'll go with 375 oven next time. Rolls had great light texture but seemed something was lacking flavor-wise. I'll go with buttermilk vs water next time and see if that does the trick. Otherwise very good and the dough was a dream to work with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My first time at sourdough bread, it was a hit at this house. Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summertown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I am new to Sourdough Starter, this is the first time I had my starter work so I wanted to get going with something easy, and this recipe was all that. Thanks to the reviewer who mentioned bringing the starter to room temp first. I made only 8 rolls, covered them with oiled saran wrap, stuck in the laundry room out of drafts, and let them sit for 45 minutes. Then I baked them in a lightly oiled cast iron skillet! Look at my purty photo! We tore into these babies like wild hounds. My friend who was here at the time ate three of them loaded with cold butter and preserves, apologizing that she simply couldn't stop. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wow!! easy to make, tender,tasty....awesome! good way to use my friendship starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy to make with starter, but didn't like the texture. Seemed more like a biscuit than a dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These turned out pretty heavy, tasty tho. I think my starter died.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
these are so good-all the Herman starter recipes have been fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent, tender and light. But I did bake them longer than the recipe indicated -- just till they got brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States