Herman Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
great recipe... and so easy! I line the baking sheet with parchment paper 1st and don't even have to wash the sheet... I do find that if you are rolling them out, you need to add about 1/4 - 1/3 cup more flour... I've never tried these with whole wheat flour, but I think I will next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family loved this. They smelled great while they were cooking. The texture is a little cakey. I had to add around 1/2 cup more flour to get the right consistency but the flavor is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
very good flavor and texture. I have done several Herman recipes from this site and this is my favorite. I used a 1/4 cup of wheat flour and added a few tablespoons of ground flax and a2 tsp less of oil. they were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I loved this recipe. It was a wonderful way to use my extra Herman starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I used a regular sourdough starter and baked for a bit shorter. Tasted great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Excellent --but was worried-no picture and a # of tales of woe. Herman is a sweet sourdough starter and these tasted sweet like they contained honey. I have learned to avoid the slow to rise problems by making the dough the night before--punching it down in the morning--making the dough balls [12] and letting them rise-- baking them at noon. Unlike french begets which can collapse with to much rise time Herman recipes respond well to this approach. Will include a photo next time these were devoured to quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Photo by C.Eaddy
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
So easy & dough turned out beautiful! Had to keep adding flour while kneading to get correct texture. I rolled the dough into 16 balls & patted down a little. Next time I'll probably make a dozen larger size. Turns out between a biscuit & roll. Delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This made a lovely soft, light and fluffy dough. Really east to work and handle, I think I could user it in lots of diferent ways, I used Fliimsy's idea for cinnamon rolls this time. There was a little bit of a bitter taste from the baking soda (so not 5*) so I'm going to reduce the amount next time and hope I will still get good results. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Not only does this make good biscuits, it also makes great Cinnamon Buns. Roll out the dough and sprinkle with cinnamon and both white and brown sugars. Roll up and slice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I changed the instructions some. Used half whole wheat flour & half all purpose flour. I increased the oven temp to 400 degrees dropped the amount of time for baking. And skipped letting it rise. They turned out pretty good. I also tried letting them rise for an hour and baking at the higher temp. They turned out a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Pagan Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Highland Springs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States