Herman Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I loved this recipe. It was a wonderful way to use my extra Herman starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I used a regular sourdough starter and baked for a bit shorter. Tasted great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Not only does this make good biscuits, it also makes great Cinnamon Buns. Roll out the dough and sprinkle with cinnamon and both white and brown sugars. Roll up and slice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
OMG I don't know what I did wrong but they did not rise very much. The only thing I can think of is that I didn't let the starter sit out long enough to room temperature. After only 20 minutes in the oven, they were almost burnt. I had to throw them out. Elly May Clampett's looked better than these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
great recipe... and so easy! I line the baking sheet with parchment paper 1st and don't even have to wash the sheet... I do find that if you are rolling them out, you need to add about 1/4 - 1/3 cup more flour... I've never tried these with whole wheat flour, but I think I will next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
very good flavor and texture. I have done several Herman recipes from this site and this is my favorite. I used a 1/4 cup of wheat flour and added a few tablespoons of ground flax and a2 tsp less of oil. they were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family loved this. They smelled great while they were cooking. The texture is a little cakey. I had to add around 1/2 cup more flour to get the right consistency but the flavor is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
these did not turn out well for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
These didn't turn out well for me at all. They were flat...and very sweet. I was hoping for more of a sourdough biscuit. I had added garlic salt and shredded cheddar cheese and you couldn't even taste it...they were still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayC
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My biscuits turned out blah. I used a sourdough starter I already had ready instead of the Herman starter which may have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States