HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
"Add remaining ingredients was a bit misleading as you do not add all the remaining ingredients as some are served when the chili is done. I used crushed tomatoes as my husband likes the texture better and chili beans (mild) instead of kidney since that is what we had on hand. I did serve chipotle powder, crushed tortilla chips and chopped onion as a optional topping. I loved the simplicity of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Hubby loved it more then myself, I thought it was okay. The cooking sauce flavor was different for me, however, it's worth a try in different preparations as well. Hubby asked that I make it again. But as is, it was to hot for my children. The recipe was totally simple to do and the ease of ingredients was great when you have most on hand all the time. I think I would love to try this with the Tomatillo Verde Cooking sauce next go around. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I didn't make in the slow cooker either, but simmered for about an hour. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This chili was wonderful! Way to spicy for my kids so we added molasses to cut down on the heat. So very flavorful with a great consistency. We will enjoy this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was a keeper for us! We ate it one night and finished the leftovers the following night. I kept everything as is, except I did use 2 pounds of ground beef and 1.5 jars of the sauce. Very easy and flavorful, yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What a great time saver using this sauce! I didn't make it in the slow cooker because I decided to make this for dinner at the last minute. I made it stove top in a dutch oven. Replaced the ground beef with lean ground turkey and added a few more veg (celery and zucchini). Browned up the ground turkey in the same pot I used to saute the veg, mixed in the rest of the ingredients and then brought to a boil and let it simmer, loosely covered for about 45 minutes. Lots of good flavor and just the right amount of heat! Served with some homemade buttermilk biscuits for a yummy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
My family enjoyed this recipe so much...it was so easy to prepare ahead of time and not only did it make the house smell sooo amazing when we got home, it was also extremely flavorful and everyone had seconds. My new go-to slow cooker recipe for a homemade chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
What a time saver! I love the Herdez sauces because they take the guesswork out of cooking. This recipe is so easy, yet so full of flavor. I made it exactly as written and was very impressed with the results. The only thing I added was salt and pepper when browning the meat. The consistency was perfect (I didn't drain the tomatoes). The house smelled so good all day! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States