HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for "Mexican" day at my office. It was a hit. I had to make one substitution. I could not find the tomatillo sauce with a prepared salsa verde. Because if that, I'll use just pepper jack cheese (1 cup) and omit the cheddar. It could use a little more kick since I had to substitute the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very salty and greasy with awful flavor. Nothing at all like cornbread I've eaten in the past. I guess the 2 TABLESPOONS of baking powder + 1 cup of cheese + 1 tablespoon of kosher salt should have clued me in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Made this for a friend who came over for dinner, who is gluten free. It's a really soft cake like bread. I couldn't find any pepper jack cheese, so i used monteray jack, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I didn't think this was all that great. Too greasy and way too salty. But I should have figured since it calls for an entire tablespoon of salt. I made muffins and ended up with 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made as cornbread layer for Sweet Tamale Pie. Complimented that dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Paula, this is a delicious bread! I had to use Herdez Chipotle sauce because I couldn't find the verde. I was really very good. The only problem I had with it is I definitely should have refrigerated the leftovers because within two days it turned very sour smelling. Hence....no picture. But I will be making this again and store it properly. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
this was taste wise....spot on! Perfect with it being gluten-free. Hubby isn't much of a spicy corn bread person (a rather sweet cornbread eater).... I found it quite nice. I did find that the cornbread was held nicely around the edges but did crumble towards the center cut pieces. Possibly needing an egg as a binder. However, the flavor and moistness was great. Next time I'll mix in 2 eggs and see if I can get clean cuts all the way from pan to plate. I will make again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very tasty cornbread! This is my favorite out of the Herdez recipes I tried. My only issue was it was so moist it wouldn't hold together for photos. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States