HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very salty and greasy with awful flavor. Nothing at all like cornbread I've eaten in the past. I guess the 2 TABLESPOONS of baking powder + 1 cup of cheese + 1 tablespoon of kosher salt should have clued me in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Made this for a friend who came over for dinner, who is gluten free. It's a really soft cake like bread. I couldn't find any pepper jack cheese, so i used monteray jack, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I didn't think this was all that great. Too greasy and way too salty. But I should have figured since it calls for an entire tablespoon of salt. I made muffins and ended up with 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made as cornbread layer for Sweet Tamale Pie. Complimented that dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Paula, this is a delicious bread! I had to use Herdez Chipotle sauce because I couldn't find the verde. I was really very good. The only problem I had with it is I definitely should have refrigerated the leftovers because within two days it turned very sour smelling. Hence....no picture. But I will be making this again and store it properly. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
this was taste wise....spot on! Perfect with it being gluten-free. Hubby isn't much of a spicy corn bread person (a rather sweet cornbread eater).... I found it quite nice. I did find that the cornbread was held nicely around the edges but did crumble towards the center cut pieces. Possibly needing an egg as a binder. However, the flavor and moistness was great. Next time I'll mix in 2 eggs and see if I can get clean cuts all the way from pan to plate. I will make again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very tasty cornbread! This is my favorite out of the Herdez recipes I tried. My only issue was it was so moist it wouldn't hold together for photos. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is more of an authentic cornbread with the elimination of flour, no eggs, etc. With that, I will admit that I'm more of a lover of a southern cornbread that combines flour, eggs, butter...did I leave off sugar here? With that said, there's a benefit to this recipe: it could potentially be gluten free...and if you're like me and have someone in the family who has an intolerance to gluten, this is a relatively easy way to give them something with a little more taste than some of the bland things on the market. I'm not clear as to whether or not Herdez is a gluten free product, but surely something could be substituted if not. For those on gluten free diets who are new to all of this, just use caution checking your ingredients to be sure that everything you're putting in does not contain gluten...that would include the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States