HERDEZ® Creamy Tomatillo Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
When I saw this recipe posted on the main page, I was so intrigued that I went to the store, bought the ingredients and made it that night. It took me a few minutes to find the cooking sauce because I was just overlooking it among all of the salsas, but I eventually found it in the Hispanic foods section in Safeway. I thought it was really good, and very easy to prepare. It had a very small bit of spiciness to it, and I knew my husband liked a bit more of a kick, so I added a touch of cayenne pepper to it. I made tostadas, and poured the sauce over the top. So good. Honestly, I thought my husband would rave over it a bit more than he actually did, but he did mention that he liked it. We have a lot of it left over, so I'm going to use the rest as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Definitely has a good kick from the tomatillo sauce, but this is a fantastic salsa with a perfect creamy texture. We enjoyed it as much as a fresh veggie dip as we did with tortilla chips. And my next batch of fish tacos definitely will be topped with this. Four ingredients into the blender, and in less than 5 minutes, you'll have a salsa/dip that'll WOW folks. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This recipe is perfect as is! Very quick dip to put together and presents nicely for when guests stop by. We dipped veggies, pretzels, and crackers and all worked well with it! I cant wait to add as a sauce for grilled chicken or tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I could only find jarred and canned Herdez® Salsa Verde, so I bought the jar Verde salsa to make this dip. It isn't hot and a very nice flavor, for those that don't like heat. I'm still on the search for the cooking sauces since I do like heat. This was delicious as a dip, and would make a terrific sauce for fish tacos, or even a taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I think I'm a wimp: This is very spicy to me. It's GOOD, but like . . . I don't want to sit down and eat a ton of it as it's written. About 2/3 the Herdez plus a few drops of lime juice are in order the next time I make this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First, I have to admit I hate cilantro. I can’t tolerate the stuff. To me, it tastes like soap. Therefore, whenever a recipe asks for cilantro, I use parsley and that works out just fine. Secondly, I couldn’t find the HERDEZ® Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce, but I did find the Traditional Chipotle, so I used that. Please keep in mind that the HERDEZ® Mexican Cooking Sauces have a kick, so if you’re not used to jazz, taste as you go. I added a lot less Mexican cooking sauce than requested in the recipe. Lastly, to my dismay, when I went to get the Greek Yogurt, it was gone, so I used sour cream. So despite all this, it still turned out fabulous. This is a great recipe that makes a very tasty dip with very little effort and can be easily adjusted to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a wonderful 4 ingredient salsa, and I’m so glad I found this recipe. This took me 5 minutes to put together. It took me longer than that to take apart the blender and wash and dry it! I made this up in the morning and served it mid-afternoon. Loved the thickness and texture of this salsa. We not only enjoyed it on tortilla chips, but fresh veggies as well. It would make a great addition to most Mexican dishes. For those have problems finding the HERDEZ® Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce, I found it at our Kroger™ store for $2.59 a jar. It was located on the top shelf with the Mexican food items. Great salsa that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolutely perfect. This Creamy Tomatillo Avocado Salsa is great as a dip and can be used as a topping for tacos, taco salads, enchiladas or any other Mexican recipe. I'm even going to try this on a burger. This delivered just the right amount of spicy heat for me. It took me longer to wash off and spin dry the cilantro than it did to make this recipe. The Greek yogurt works well and no doubt sour cream would work as well. This will be my go to dip and topping. I'm going to stock up on the Herdez Tomatillo Verde Cooking Sauce for this one. What a great recipe Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Okay....Valerie, I'm a wuss ;-) I forgot how spicy the HERDEZ cooking sauces are. And no one could eat it as written. However, I loved the flavor it was just to darn hot. But because I was serving it to my kids, I needed to adjust the heat in it. I basically had to increase the avocado & Greek yogurt by 4 times what the original recipe stated but left the cooking sauce and cilantro the as is. Still had a great amount of heat without hurting my little ones and everyone enjoyed it but hubby. He wouldn't try it because of the avocados, but for me, making it the way I did, will be a keeper. And it still had it's creamy texture. I'm just glad this recipe is soo easy when it comes to evening the heat without losing the flavor. So it's a win win for the whimpiest heat seekers to the atomic bomb dropping eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect blend of those 4 ingredients! WOW!! I will be making this often! Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States