HERDEZ® Creamy Tomatillo Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is a very flavorful dip or sauce. I am not a fan of cilantro but it didn't bother me in this recipe. It would be great thinned out and used as a sauce on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Served this at a pot luck...everyone loved this dip! The only complaint (if you can call it that) was from one person who said it was bit too spicy, but then admitted that they normally don't eat spicy food. I followed the recipe exactly and used a blender to mix it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First, I have to admit I hate cilantro. I can’t tolerate the stuff. To me, it tastes like soap. Therefore, whenever a recipe asks for cilantro, I use parsley and that works out just fine. Secondly, I couldn’t find the HERDEZ® Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce, but I did find the Traditional Chipotle, so I used that. Please keep in mind that the HERDEZ® Mexican Cooking Sauces have a kick, so if you’re not used to jazz, taste as you go. I added a lot less Mexican cooking sauce than requested in the recipe. Lastly, to my dismay, when I went to get the Greek Yogurt, it was gone, so I used sour cream. So despite all this, it still turned out fabulous. This is a great recipe that makes a very tasty dip with very little effort and can be easily adjusted to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I love this dip. It's very fresh and light tasting and super easy to make. I don't like a lot of heat, so I used only 1/2 of the jar of cooking sauce. I also used less cilantro but didn't measure. This is an easy recipe to tailor to one's own taste. I served it with Roasted Garlic and Black Bean Artisan Tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a wonderful 4 ingredient salsa, and I’m so glad I found this recipe. This took me 5 minutes to put together. It took me longer than that to take apart the blender and wash and dry it! I made this up in the morning and served it mid-afternoon. Loved the thickness and texture of this salsa. We not only enjoyed it on tortilla chips, but fresh veggies as well. It would make a great addition to most Mexican dishes. For those have problems finding the HERDEZ® Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce, I found it at our Kroger™ store for $2.59 a jar. It was located on the top shelf with the Mexican food items. Great salsa that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Loved this.. yum. I was a bit spicy for me so I added more yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Fabulous! We ate this in lieu of our normal salsa & sour cream with my Farmer's Market Vegetarian Quesadillas, and my family LOVED it. I added a bit more Greek yogurt but will definitely make this again. So, so good! Thanks, Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Perfect for summer! Loved the spicy tanginess and the creamy texture from the yogurt and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was very enjoyable. For our family, it wasn't very hot at all! Even my one year old loved it. It would be a great dip or dressing. I could see this very easily on tacos! It is a crowd pleaser for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States