Herbie's Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
These were delicious! I left out the green peppers and sauteed the garlic in butter. I partially microwaved the potatoes to speed things up. I used regular paprika and used Lawry's seasoned salt. These were perfect for Sunday breakfast paired with scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee. I doubt any diner could have compared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
These were awesome. They were gone so quick. The only thing I would change is that I cut the pot. into too large of chunks. They would have gotten crispier if they were smaller. But I would recommend these to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These are soooooo good! I first tasted these earlier this week at work. I talked to the Chef and he showed me how to make them and this was his recipe, minus the green pepper and add bacon. These are so yummy. He just used paprika from a giant spice container and I doubt it was Hungarian. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Very, very Good!! I didn't change anything and these were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEN9903

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I didn't put all the peppers & thyme it said to, & it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Man! What an easy way to make home fries! I remember, as a little girl, my mom would make them and it seemed like the hardest thing in the world. The potatoes took so long to cook. However, boiling the potatoes first really cut down the cooking time in this recipe. Oh yea and I didn't use the Hungarian paprika I used some regular paprika and of course the home fries were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Irvington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So thankful for this recipe, as I'm pregnant and am always craving home fries cooked this particular way. Driving 30 minutes out to the closest to the restaurant that cooks them this way can be quite cumbersome & costly when you crave these daily like I do! My only change was I only had russets but they cooked up just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
YUM! I used idaho potatoes, which I opted to peel, used more garlic than called for and added a little bacon grease in with the butter. These turned out so flavorful and could not have been easier to make. Loved the addition of the paprika. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Isn't this basically Potatoes O'Brien? Either way, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
My mother used to make this a lot when I was growing up, until I decided I hated onions. I like them again nowadays but had forgotten about this! I used to eat so much I'd make myself sick, it's just irresistible. The only thing she did differently was slice the potatoes very thinly, instead of doing chunks. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States