Herbie's Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Very good. I will definitely make this again but next time I will make sure to use the ingredients on the list. I used regular russet potatoes and some inexpensive paprika I had on hand. I also did not use bell peppers because I didn't have any and it really did need the peppers. I think next time I will also use a second clove of garlic. I substituted bacon drippings for some of the butter which I think added alot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
These were delicious! I left out the green peppers and sauteed the garlic in butter. I partially microwaved the potatoes to speed things up. I used regular paprika and used Lawry's seasoned salt. These were perfect for Sunday breakfast paired with scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee. I doubt any diner could have compared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
AWESOME! While sauting the onion/bell pepper, I added a head of chopped broccoli and some fresh mushrooms I needed to use up before they went bad in my fridge. A perfect side to our chicken! In fact, this was the first to dissapear. Its not the most unique recipe but that doesn't detract from its taste. Paprika, potatoes & veggies - we can't get enough. Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These are soooooo good! I first tasted these earlier this week at work. I talked to the Chef and he showed me how to make them and this was his recipe, minus the green pepper and add bacon. These are so yummy. He just used paprika from a giant spice container and I doubt it was Hungarian. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This was delicious and easy to make. I didn't have Yukon gold potatoes so I used russet potatoes and it turned out fine. Hubby and I found this was even better when the leftovers were refried. Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
YUM! I used idaho potatoes, which I opted to peel, used more garlic than called for and added a little bacon grease in with the butter. These turned out so flavorful and could not have been easier to make. Loved the addition of the paprika. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Man! What an easy way to make home fries! I remember, as a little girl, my mom would make them and it seemed like the hardest thing in the world. The potatoes took so long to cook. However, boiling the potatoes first really cut down the cooking time in this recipe. Oh yea and I didn't use the Hungarian paprika I used some regular paprika and of course the home fries were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Irvington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
These were awesome. They were gone so quick. The only thing I would change is that I cut the pot. into too large of chunks. They would have gotten crispier if they were smaller. But I would recommend these to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So thankful for this recipe, as I'm pregnant and am always craving home fries cooked this particular way. Driving 30 minutes out to the closest to the restaurant that cooks them this way can be quite cumbersome & costly when you crave these daily like I do! My only change was I only had russets but they cooked up just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Turned out very good, I used seasoned salt and melted cheese over the top. I will make these over again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States