Herbie's Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is absolutely the best after being put into a taco shell. Add some salsa, sour cream, and cheddar cheese. No need for meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Good stuff! Used red taters + a little red pepper (don't like green). Crumbled up a couple pieces of turkey bacon and added in. Also threw in some chopped green onion and small pieces of tomato for the last couple minutes. I think the juice from tomatoes added a nice flavor. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmwaffle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Was great, but I wonder how to make them more crunchy. Should I cook them longer? Went well with scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The taste of these is GREAT but I could seem to make them crunchy like I think of home fries, will keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Turned out very good, I used seasoned salt and melted cheese over the top. I will make these over again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
My mother used to make this a lot when I was growing up, until I decided I hated onions. I like them again nowadays but had forgotten about this! I used to eat so much I'd make myself sick, it's just irresistible. The only thing she did differently was slice the potatoes very thinly, instead of doing chunks. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Isn't this basically Potatoes O'Brien? Either way, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
YUM! I used idaho potatoes, which I opted to peel, used more garlic than called for and added a little bacon grease in with the butter. These turned out so flavorful and could not have been easier to make. Loved the addition of the paprika. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So thankful for this recipe, as I'm pregnant and am always craving home fries cooked this particular way. Driving 30 minutes out to the closest to the restaurant that cooks them this way can be quite cumbersome & costly when you crave these daily like I do! My only change was I only had russets but they cooked up just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were good breakfast potatoes, but the onion and green peppers burnt before the potatoes were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States