Herbed Sweet 'n' Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe. I made it almost exactly as written. I was using up a jar of ground allspice, so I put in a little more, maybe 5/8 of a teaspoon. And though my grocery store usually puts 4 chicken breast halves in a package, I found out when I got home that there were only 3, but they were very large, and totaled 3.66#. Because they were so thick, I needed to cook them for about an hour (perhaps the high elevation where I live was a factor, too). And I found the 2/3-cup of rice to be far too little - I would think at least 3 times that much would be right. But those are just a matter of proportion. The overall flavor and appearance of the chicken was wonderful (the thyme was prominent). In general, I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years! I like to add a side of pineapple. It is perfect! No changes recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My family and I love this recipe, I make it at least once a month. It goes great with a side of pineapple. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
yes i try to make the other recipe this was so good and easy to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and thought it was amazing (I didn't have any pineapple juice)! A good balance of sweet and spicy. I had big pieces of chicken so cooked them for 50 minutes, but flipped and basted them every 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Got this recipe years ago from a friend! Only catch is the recipe called for teriyaki sauce instead of soy. Absolute hit with my family! The only thing they asked was for me to adjust the amount of cayenne pepper, other than no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Excellent flavor and the chicken was extremely moist. Next time will marinate chicken several hours/overnight for more flavor. For just two, the sauce was a bit too much for the amount of chicken, so we may adjust that down. All in all, it was very good, fast and easy to prepare and a keeper! Thanks for the post Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This recipe was ok, but it wasn't really sweet 'n' sour. About 4 parts sweet to one part kinda possibly maybe spicy if you're from the Midwest. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I loved this, I omitted the honey because I did not have any and added pineapple juice. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Family favorite! i cut the oil down to only one tbsp add a tsp of sesame oil for added flavor and a 3 or 4 tablespoons of water to make up for the missing oil. i only use the paprika pepper & cayanne for spices because i dont want to over power the flavors. after its done baking i transfer the juice the chiken cooked in into a sauce pan mix a tbsp water with a tbsp corn startch and boil untill thickened. cut chicken into bite size pieces pour over chicken add pineapple chunks & serve over warm rice. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States