Herbed Scalloped Potatoes and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written. I read some people added cheese, I did not. I was happy to find a recipe without it to cut back on the fat. Didn't miss the cheese at all. These were delicious and creamy as is. I fried up a serving for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Johnston Battice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
you need to double up the sauce ingredients, too dry the first time making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Really good, no milk or cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Delicious side dish for Easter dinner! The only issue I encountered was the "5 large potatoes." I could only fit 3 large potatoes in the 2.5 qt dish. I figure that the large potatoes I chose were actually extra-large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was so yummy!!!Think if I could change it I would cut down on the flour.I enjoyed it very much!~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Great alternative to cheesy potatoes, which I'm not fond of. To cut down the cooking time, I parboiled the potatoes and sautéed the onions in a little butter; they only needed 30 minutes in the oven that way. I only used three potatoes since there were just two of us, but didn't reduce the sauce. They were amazing. I normally eat one portion of food, but went back until they were all gone…three times! They do have a bit of a sweet taste, especially if you keep going back for more. In the future I think I will replace the mayo with sour cream and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The first time I made this as written with the exception of substituting beef broth for the chicken broth since that was all I had at the time. No complaints. I have made them twice with beef broth since. I also have used red potatoes and red onions since the first time I made this recipe and this dish was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made this last night after reading many reviews. I took advice from other reviewers and customized the dish for my family. I carmalized 2 onions along with the garlic (thanks GEOMASON) and layered in the potatoes. I didn't use low sodium chicken stock so I omitted the salt. During the last 15 minutes of baking, I uncovered the dish, sprinkled the top generously with shredded cheddar cheese then garlic croutons. My family loved it! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the grayish color. I didn't think it was all that appealing. Anyone have any suggestions to brighten up this great tasting dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
OH MY! I made this last night exactly according to direction. (except I didn't have any chives). I was so creamy, so delicious. My husband said he may explode from eating so much, and I couldn't stop either. Wow is this good. I'll reheat the leftovers tonight(only the two of us)and I'll bet it will be awesome too. It stays really really hot so allow some cooling time before you indulge in this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
loved these! I cheated and preboiled the potatoes to significantly cut down on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States