Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Did not have fresh thyme or cilantro, so used dried (1 tsp ea). mixed the dressing, waited 10 minutes, then mixed it with the beans, celery and onions. The rice was not cool yet, and I had to take my son to choir, so it sat for 1 1/2 hrs before adding the rice and then serving. I did not like it that night. It was too oily and the red wine vinegar was too strong. I couldn't taste the black beans at all, which I love. I put the remains in the fridge and had some for lunch the next day. It was sooo much better the next day. The oily taste was gone, the vinegar and thyme had time to mellow. The fresh basil and parsley looked a little sad, so I'll probably either put the fresh herbs in just before serving or use dried. And I would definitely add more beans (love black beans). Overall, it was good and so simple (love the idea of a recipe that uses left over rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Used the recipe as written and it was wonderful. Very fresh tasting. I think using the fresh herbs as opposed to dried makes all the difference. We absolutely love this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I took a 1/2 day off of work and made this and the Tilapia with Mango Salsa. It is absolutely delcious upon first tasting it. I did not alter the recipe and think the fresh herbs make this recipe. I can't wait to see what hubby thinks about it at dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is a very tasty and unique salad, and has a nice color with the white rice, black beans and the different colors of green with the celery and herbs. As another reviewer suggested, it does need to sit a few hours to allow the flavors to meld. I used the recipe as written other than subbing Chipotle chile pepper for the Cayenne, and reducing the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. I also used Basmati white rice. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made this with brown rice instead and added in som steamed broccoli..My Husband and I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
What a great, light alternative to a Mexican "heavy" side! Cool and refreshing - lots of herbs and just the right amount of oil and vinegar. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
recipe was great. i made one slight change in it, istead of the heat from the cayenne, i made a fresh tomatillo and jalapeno salso to go along with it. recipe still is fantastic without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Surprisingly spicy and full of flavor. Good to make the day before. Great alternative to potato salad at picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out EXCELLENT! Next time I may make a little more of the seasoning to throw in as I like my food VERY flavorful but everyone else thought I shouldn't change one thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I used brown rice. It was SOOO good and good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States