Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miss Kay
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe, except for the olive oil. I'll see what it's like tomorrow, as one reviewer noted. I used basmati rice, minced garlic (didn't have the powder), white wine vinegar (didn't have red) and omitted the olives (because I don't like them). Didn't have fresh thyme, so used ground. Also added orange peppers for some colour contrast and a hit of sweetness. This recipe seems like it could adapt well to variations -- thinking about diced tomatoes and jalapeños. A nice lunch option! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Reminded me of an old Hopping John salad I used to make in the 70s, with black-eyed peas. And who in the world would think of substituting dried cilantro for fresh? Do they even sell dried cilantro?? Cilantro is one of my favorite herbs because of its distinctive flavor. It makes this recipe. If you don't have fresh cilantro on hand, then don't make this; make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this as-written for a side dish, and tried it again for lunch the following day. The dressing was tasty and we enjoyed the crunch from the celery, but it was heavier than anticipated and didn't translate as "refreshing" to us. I would try this again with a brown rice and maybe some halved grape tomatoes or a can of drained fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Was delicious! I made it for my non-vegetarian bf and he loved it! To make it personal I might add an extra celery stalk and green onion next time just to add extra flavor! Kudos to whom shared this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
easy to make and pretty tasty. Next time, I will use 1/2 of the vinegar instead and twice more celery and seasoning. I used the left over sushi rice which was sticky and took me a while to separate the rice. I think the standard rice will not have this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
AWESOME use of leftover rice! Even with no fresh herbs on hand, and forced to substitute dried, this came out mouth-watering just as it's written. The combination of flavors and textures is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My new favorite dish. I've made it twice following the recipe exactly, and it is sooo good! Perfect with a salad on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very tasty. This would make a great potluck dish. I've made this several times now. Each time a little different depending what I have on hand. The best substitutes so far are balsamic vinegar, brown jasmin rice, and garlic cloves instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
really good but doesnt make a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Wonderful. But agree with other reviewers, fresh herbs are a must. I don't like red wine vinegar so I used 1/2c of Annie's red wine vinegar & olive oil dressing instead of the vinegar and olive oil. It's a great brown bag lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States