Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
recipe was great. i made one slight change in it, istead of the heat from the cayenne, i made a fresh tomatillo and jalapeno salso to go along with it. recipe still is fantastic without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Used the recipe as written and it was wonderful. Very fresh tasting. I think using the fresh herbs as opposed to dried makes all the difference. We absolutely love this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe! Our whole family loved it and we will definitely make it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made this with brown rice instead and added in som steamed broccoli..My Husband and I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this with some leftover jasmine rice. This is very tasty and different. I am going to use it in some wraps also. I did not have fresh spices only on the cilantro. I will make with all fresh next time just to see if there is a difference. But I love the taste, thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made this about 10 years ago and lost the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it! I love this salad!! It does need to set and cool in order for all of the spices to combine perfectly. I used dried spices except for the cilantro and it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This salad was just OK. A nice change from your typical macaroni or potato salad that uses mayo as a base. I changed the recipe slightly, substituting chopped green peppers for the celery and I added 3 T. of diced pimentos- - the salad needed a little more color. I took this to a picnic at the beach, it held up well. Wasn't all that impressive, I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is a very tasty and unique salad, and has a nice color with the white rice, black beans and the different colors of green with the celery and herbs. As another reviewer suggested, it does need to sit a few hours to allow the flavors to meld. I used the recipe as written other than subbing Chipotle chile pepper for the Cayenne, and reducing the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. I also used Basmati white rice. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was pretty good and my family liked it a lot. I thought I was a bit dry but I'll definitely am making it again. I did the recipe almogrist exactly as written except I used dried thyme instead of fresh because the store didn't have any. It went really great with the Grilled Talapia with Mango Salsa from this site. A bit of steamed broccoli finished the meal. Great for a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I took the lazy way out and used dried herbs (except for cilantro). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States