Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Really liked this recipe!! I used a pouch of ready made brown rice and zapped it in the microwave for about a minute to warm it up and take the dressing a bit better. Omitted the cilantro only because I didn't have any and celery because I'm not a big fan. Cut back the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon. Added calamata olives instead of canned black olives and then added about a half a cup of halved cherry tomatoes. Wonderfull!! Perfect lunch salad!! Next time I'm going to reduce the olive oil to 2 tablespoons to reduce the fat conent a bit and add a minced jalepeno for a bit more heat but trust me, a pretty good recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out EXCELLENT! Next time I may make a little more of the seasoning to throw in as I like my food VERY flavorful but everyone else thought I shouldn't change one thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was very tasty. We felt like it was missing something though. Next time I plan to add some grilled chicken breasts and bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I had high hopes, but this was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very nice side dish for a hot day and a great alternative to the same old pasta salad I had been making previously. I made pretty much exactly as described but just a splash of balsamic vinegar and about 2 1/2 to 3 cups of rice. Everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
i think this was great. i add fresh red bell peppers and leave out the cilantro (can't stand the soapy taste.) make this a day ahead if you can...much better after it has a chance to marinade. btw, 2 cups of water for 1 cup of long,white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was disappointing, I found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is so tasty! I omitted the celery and added sliced tomatoes. It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is a tasty salad! I found it to be a little bit too salty, but others enjoyed it the way it was. I used fresh chives instead of the green onions, and kidney beans instead of black. I thought I had a can around, and realized I only had kidney beans after I started making it! I think I will probably try it again with black beans. This is healthy, yummy, and easy; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very blend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States