Herbed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
So Good! My three picky boys loved it! Will save this recipe to use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this tonight and it was EXCELLENT. I made a few minor changes.. I put the first seven ingredients (and added about 1tsp garlic powder & 1 tsp onion powder) in a bowl and mixed with olive oil to form a paste. I probably used 1/4c of olive oil. I cut 6 slits in my pork and put whole garlic cloves in. Rubbed the pork with the paste and let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hours. Wish I had time to let it sit longer! Next time I definitely will try for overnight. Cooked my 4lb boneless roast at 325 until it reached 158 (about 90 minutes) Removed from oven and tented with foil for about 15 minutes while potatoes finished cooked. It was excellent, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
We absolutley loved this recipe, especially my kids! It was soooooo good and very moist. Like some other reviews suggested, I drizzeled a small amount of olive oil over the roast, then sprinkled the seasoning mixture on top of the oil. I didn't have any marjorum, so I substituted italian seasoning and used celery salt instead of celery seed, and put in less salt than it called for. I also added a can of chicken broth to the bottom of the pan. I cooked it in one of those electric turkey roasters on the tempurature called for for about 3 hours, then turned it down to 200 for another couple of hours until we were ready to eat. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Terrific recipe. I used 3.25 pounds of roast, which lasted 3 days for us and it still tasted awesome on each night of leftovers. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Thanks for the reminder on rubs. I don't do pork often but with a bet on grocery shopping using only specials & bulk foods (family packs) I needed a refresher: how to use it all & have different meals too. I used celery leaves & brown sugar. loved the 'permission/hint' of letting the meat rest with the rub overnight. I do that with out the spices all the time with beef. It starts the enzimes working.I couldnt help myself, I just had to brown it first in olive oil, garlic and onion. I will consider white wine next time to deglaze the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I left out the sugar (diabetic) and the celery seed (don't like), and added olive oil to make the rub stick better to the pork. It smelled divine when it was cooking, but after cooking it carefully at 325 and removing from the heat at exactly 160, it was dry and flavorless. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I cooked this a little too long and wasn't as juicy therefore, but it still had a great flavor and will definitely make again. Also i followed other advise in adding garlic salt, doubling the rub, using olive oil to make the rub stick better and I was out of chicken stock so i just added some water. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Fantastic. My husband always complains when I make pork, but he raved about this recipe. It was juicy, tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This rub was 110% awesome !! Roast was full of flavor and very tender. Even my picky father-in-law liked it. Highly recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was fantastic. I made 2 changes.. first i used brown sugar, and second.. i doubled the amount of the rub for the same sized roast(about 5 lbs). I stabbed the loin roast w/a fork all over.. drizzled w/olive oil as others suggested, and rubbed the roast down w/the spices. I 'marinated' mine for almost 2 days.. as I got called out the night i wanted to cook it. OH MY!! The flavor was divine!! A little sweet, a little salty, a little tangy.. just wonderful!!! I can't wait to try different blends of spices in the future.. perhaps more of an asian blend, then maybe more greek, then maybe more BBQ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelowyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States