Herbed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Added onion and garlic powders to the mix based on our personal preferences. I also used about 3 TBSP of olive oil to make a paste with the herbs. I let the roast sit out at room temp. for about 2 hours with the herb rub on it before putting in the oven at 450 F for 15 minutes. I dropped the temp. down to 350 F and it took our 5 lb. roast about 1.5 hours in total to cook. Yummy results and will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is the only pork loin recipe I use since my husband and kids absolutely love it (and the leftovers!). Marinating it overnight gives it the most flavor, and the sage is key so don't skimp on it. We like our served with a sauce I make of horseradish, mayo, s & p.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I didn't think the herbs could really do that much, but WOW!!! This was the best pork roast I have ever had. Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I was looking for a way to season my roast kind of last-minute. I didn't have time to let this sit overnight but I did leave it on the counter for about 2 hours to let it come up in temp (meat cooks more evenly if you don't go straight from frig to oven). I added about 1T of olive oil to the rub mix to make a paste so it would stick to the roast better. Was worried about the 2T of sugar, so I changed that to 1tsp of brown sugar (glad I did). Loved the flavor, including that little touch of sweet from the brown sugar! Baked on a rack, to the bottom of the pan I added: 3c water, 1 pkt pork gravy mix (McCormick), 1/2 pkt onion soup mix and some chopped raw onion (to make gravy). Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. My family loved how tender the roast was and they loved the rub. Making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Amazing! What made me decide to try this was the raves about the gravy one could make. Followed many reviewers tips: added garlic and chicken broth, used brown sugar instead of white, cut slits in the pork and rubbed spice into slits, rubbed it with olive oil, cooked at 450 for 30 minutes, 325 for an hour, and then a final half hour at 350. One thing I did also was sub the salt for apple wood-smoked sea salt, since I had some. I also tossed some carrots and potato wedges in olive oil, (regular sea) salt and pepper, and added them 20 minutes into the cooking process. I cooked my 4.5 lb. pork butt uncovered on a rack in a roasting pan. Of course, I had to make gravy: I added a cup of water to replace what evaporated, heated the juices to boiling, and gradually added a flour slurry until it was nicely thickened. No need to adjust the seasonings! My whole finicky family RAVED about this meal and insisted we have it again. Great seasoning mix. Thanks to the reviewers for all their tips. I am new to cooking pork roasts and now I am a believer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie W.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Adjusted to 6 servings, called for 3/8 of a 5 lb roast. Converted to 1.875 lbs. of roast. per other reviews, start at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes and then turn down to 350 degrees for until thermometer reaches 140 degrees, remove, tent with foil and let set for 10 minutes. Temp should be around 150 for medium, 170 for well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this for Christmas and everybody loved it. Didn't let on how easy it was! Thanks, this will become a firm favorite in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
fantastic! I added broth to the pan. Garlic and oil to the spice rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The herbs make the edge of the meat tasty but doesn't penetrate to inside. Guests could taste the sugar. It was interesting. I thought this was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States