Herbed Pork Roast and Creamy Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I'm generally not a fan of canned soup, but I do believe it has its place from time to time as it does in this recipe. Not knowing when we'd be eating supper, I decided to play it safe and make this roast in the CrockPot. After mincing the fresh herbs and garlic, I sort of bound it all together with a little olive oil, then inserted the herb/oil mixture not only into the slits I cut, but rubbed the rest onto the surface of the roast itself. I mixed the cream of mushroom soup with white wine rather than the water called for, which I knew would contribute nice flavor. The roast was fragrant, flavorful, moist and tender. I wasn't pleased with the looks of the gravy once it came out of the CrockPot, so I strained it, then thickened it on the stovetop with a little cornstarch. It wasn't the prettiest roast I've ever seen, but it sure was one of the tastiest, and I'd definitely make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I liked this roast. Next time, I will cook it a little longer. It was very juicy and the gravy was a good complement to it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
OMG! this was beyond good! I did make a few changes, I used cream of chicken soup and chicken broth instead of water and basil in place of rosemary. Rosemary is just too strong a taste for me. Like I said, just gggggreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Try golden onion soup with this recipe. .I did make this and some do this allot , Just thought id make a small change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebushl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quick, simple and beyond excellent. I was out of thyme so substituted with italian seasoning. My husband hates mushrooms and he commented on how good this was several times. This will definitely be featured on our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I made a few minor changes. First, I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used dried. I mixed the herbs and 2 cloves of garlic in a bit of olive oil and rubbed the mixture onto the roast. Then I topped the roast with onions. When the roast was done, I scraped the toppings into the pan and added the soup and water. I served it with roasted red potatoes and carrots. I was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and mixed the herbs with olive oil and basted the meat with it. I also added sliced fresh mushrooms to the soup mixture and warmed it on the stove before adding it to the drippings. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My family did not like this. I did not use salt or pepper as the recipe said. Everyone said the meat was bland. I followed some of the other suggestions and placed all the herbs and garlic in olive oil and rubbed the meat prior to cooking. I guess I was counting on the soup to be flavorful enough w/o adding extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I tried this recipe it was great. I did what another person suggested and used italion seasoning. I was out of garlic and used garlic powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
if your pork roast does not give off a lot of drippings, don't overcompensate with water, still just use the required amount and adjust the water once the soup is thoroughly heated to make sure it still has gravy consistency, very good flavor and easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States