Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
My family thought this meat was the bomb. I used a five pound hunk of meat and it was done in an 1 1/2 hours. I just covered the meat with foil. It kept the meat warm and allowed the inside juices to flavor the meat even more, while the onion/apple mixture baked in the oven. My wife and son didn't care for the onion/apple mixture but they have very pedestrian pallets (don't tell them I said that). Their MAJOR loss. I thought it was insanely declicious. I also served Bavarian sauerkraut, "Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe," and some brown and serve rolls with brushed on melted butter and dried parsley (in the oven for a few minutes) on the allrecipes website--for wonderful compliments to this dish. The herb mixture was dead-on perfect! Nice one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This roast was awesome! I used a 2.5 lb roast and cooked it for a total of 2 1/2 hours uncovered. It was PERFECT! Very moist. I put apple cider and water in the bottom of the roasting pan which helped to keep it moist. I added the apples and onions for the last hour of cooking and they turned out great. I too skipped the whole syrup/juice/gravy thing only because I didn't want to bother. Instead I used two pork gravy packets, and used 1/2 cup of cider in it and the rest water. OH...also make sure you put the rub on the night before and wrap in plastic wrap, then let sit in the fridge overnite. This really helps lock in the flavor. This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
We didn't find this overall sweet, but very delicous. I rubbed the spices on the pork the night before, making a few incisions in the meat and wrapping well in plastic wrap. This let the flavor of rub really get into the meat. I added 2 lbs of cubed red potatoes to the pan. To the pan drippings, I added two packets of pork gravy mix. This lovely roast was a huge hit at a boss dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This was very good even though all I had to rub on it was sage, salt and pepper. I didn't have "real" maple syrup, but I did have Mrs. Butterworth. One of the best recipes I've tried from this site and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Apples pair so well with pork. This recipe was excellent. I served it Christmas Eve, and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This recipe makes a delicious, savory roast; my family enjoyed this very much. Because we were pressed for time today and this evening I decided to omit the gravy/sauce entirely. I did rub the roast with the herbs, salt and pepper, and then let it sit overnight in the fridge. When I was ready to put the roast into the oven I chopped up the red onion and a big bunch of celery hearts, put this on the bottom of the roasting pan and set the roast on top, and then let this bake for one hour. Then I chopped up the apples, thickly sliced three large yams, and after stirring this mixture up with the brown sugar I arranged the apples and yams around the roast and then poured one cup of apple juice over all. The addition of the apple juice loosened all of the baked bits of carmelized onion and mixed with the drippings from the roast to make a wonderful sauce that I used for basting. I put the pan back in the oven for another two hours (only used a 4-pound pork loin roast), and afterwards enjoyed a terrific one-dish meal. Next time I'll make sure that I have enough time to make the sauce with the maple syrup as I am certain that must be quite delicious as well. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
YUMMY!! I left the herb rub on over night and put the pork tenderloin the I bought at Costco in the crockpot, in the morning on low with about a 1/2 cup of Apple Juice. It cooked all day, then I added the apple mixture an 1 1/2 hrs. before we wanted to eat. It took about 20 mins. to make the gravy. We really liked the different flavors of the herbs and apples and the gravy that came together in a delicious way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Wow! I used a bone-in center pork loin for this and my family was WOWED. THis is a delicious recipe...I'm making it again this week with a regular pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is the best recipe I've gotten from this site. Sooooo good. The only thing I did different was to brown the roast before I put it in the oven. Helps to keep it really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was great! Very easy to make, didn't require too much prep work. I made it with pork tenderloin so I adjusted to cook times, I didn't need 2.5 hours to cook it. Definetly a favorite, especially for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States