Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
The meat came out tasting really wonderful. The entire recipe put together was a little bland. However, I'm not sure what I'd add to give it more flavor. There weren't really enough apples to go around and they were mushy. The recipe for the meat alone though is worth it. The meat came out moist with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Although the meat was very tender and tasted good, this didn't live up to my expectations based upon prior reviews. I had no meat drippings left with which to make the gravy, and my apples were so overcooked that they were practically mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Have served this numerous times as a 'company' dish! Always a big hit! Usually make a side dish of stuffing also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I first had this recipe at Christmas made by my father-in-law. It was excellent. I decided to make it for my side of the family on New Year's Day and it was a Huge hit. Make sure that you use a meat themometer because my pork was done in half the time the recipe said. I am not a sweet meat fan and I still loved it even with the apples and maple gravy. By the way, the gravy is more the consistency of Au Jus sauce than gravy and I recommend making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
A very good recipe. I served this for a family holiday get-together. The 8 adults liked it--the 10 kids gave mixed reviews. The next time I will add the apples and onions from the start. I had 2 six lb. loins that cooked a lot faster than the recipe stated, so I had to finish cooking the apples & onions on the stovetop. The gravy was excellent, I took a couple of reviewers advice and used cornstarch for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made this recipe on New Years Day. I was really nervous because I didn't know if people would like the "sweet" meat, but let me tell you everyone raved about this recipe. They said it was the best pork dish they had ever tasted, and they even asked for the recipe. I used a pork tenderloin and it worked wonderfully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I made this for dinner tonight and both my husband and roommate loved it. I did however vary the recipe a bit. I used different herbs and added some syrup as part of the marinade. I did not make the gravy because the pork was so tender that it did not need it, and because my extremely picky husband usually does not like gravy. My roommate loved it so much she wants the recipe. Next time I have to cook a pork loin and this is how I will cook it, but I will actually make the gravy to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This recipe is great! I served it for 60 people. The meat was tender and flavorful. The gravy really adds a nice touch. You may have to cook it longer then the recipe says depending on the cut of meat you use. Remember to peel the apples and dice them. The roast looks lovely sliced with the apples and onions placed around it on a platter. A friend made this recipe 4 more times over the holiday and it was a huge success. Enjoy!!! This a great recipe for a nice dinner and a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I served this recipe to friends and they loved it! So did I. The apples and the "gravy" add a great flavor to the savory roast. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Not bad, but not quite what I was expecting. A little bland for me. Wasn't real crazy about the flavor of the apples either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States