Herbed Pork and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Although the meat was very tender and tasted good, this didn't live up to my expectations based upon prior reviews. I had no meat drippings left with which to make the gravy, and my apples were so overcooked that they were practically mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Have served this numerous times as a 'company' dish! Always a big hit! Usually make a side dish of stuffing also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I first had this recipe at Christmas made by my father-in-law. It was excellent. I decided to make it for my side of the family on New Year's Day and it was a Huge hit. Make sure that you use a meat themometer because my pork was done in half the time the recipe said. I am not a sweet meat fan and I still loved it even with the apples and maple gravy. By the way, the gravy is more the consistency of Au Jus sauce than gravy and I recommend making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
A very good recipe. I served this for a family holiday get-together. The 8 adults liked it--the 10 kids gave mixed reviews. The next time I will add the apples and onions from the start. I had 2 six lb. loins that cooked a lot faster than the recipe stated, so I had to finish cooking the apples & onions on the stovetop. The gravy was excellent, I took a couple of reviewers advice and used cornstarch for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made this recipe on New Years Day. I was really nervous because I didn't know if people would like the "sweet" meat, but let me tell you everyone raved about this recipe. They said it was the best pork dish they had ever tasted, and they even asked for the recipe. I used a pork tenderloin and it worked wonderfully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I made this for dinner tonight and both my husband and roommate loved it. I did however vary the recipe a bit. I used different herbs and added some syrup as part of the marinade. I did not make the gravy because the pork was so tender that it did not need it, and because my extremely picky husband usually does not like gravy. My roommate loved it so much she wants the recipe. Next time I have to cook a pork loin and this is how I will cook it, but I will actually make the gravy to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This recipe is great! I served it for 60 people. The meat was tender and flavorful. The gravy really adds a nice touch. You may have to cook it longer then the recipe says depending on the cut of meat you use. Remember to peel the apples and dice them. The roast looks lovely sliced with the apples and onions placed around it on a platter. A friend made this recipe 4 more times over the holiday and it was a huge success. Enjoy!!! This a great recipe for a nice dinner and a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I served this recipe to friends and they loved it! So did I. The apples and the "gravy" add a great flavor to the savory roast. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Not bad, but not quite what I was expecting. A little bland for me. Wasn't real crazy about the flavor of the apples either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I was a little worried about the reviews saying how sweet it was, but it was very awesome. The onion and apple give it just the right taste. I also had losts of compliments on the sauce. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States