Herbed Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was a super easy recipe!! I decided to sautee some shallots, red pepper and a bit of mushroom in with the butter before making the cheese sauce. I didn't have "Italian Seasoning" so used oregano, dill and parsley, as well as a bit of garlic powder, onion powder and salt & pepper. I also seasoned the bread crumbs with these spices since they also called for Italian Seasoning. The result was so cheesy and delicious! Definitely a keeper, especially with how easy it was and how quickly dinner was on the table. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Keeper! Family loves flavor, and per hubby "it's not a pile of goo like most mac-n-cheese." Sour cream (I actually used plain yogurt) really rounded out the flavor. Also added hot dogs. Mm!! FYI-7 oz. is about a scant 2 cups elbow macaroni that comes in a bag (little bigger sized pasta than boxed macaroni meal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Added sauteed shrimp. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is great!! I have made it many times, the one thing that I have changed is I dice an onion and saute with butter before preparing the roux...adds the right texture and flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this today and it is wonderful. I used havarti with dill and cheddar. Instead of italian seasoning I used dill. I used a little garlic powder instead of the onion powder. This recipe is so easy and tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I like this recipe, but it calls for a bit too much Italian seasoning in my opinion. Its a very powerful seasoning and I like to taste the CHEESE. MMMMM. I definitely will be making again, just not using so much Ital seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very good. I crumbled some bacon on top when I baked it. Nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crevoiserat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Added some grated onion and shredded (instead of diced) all the cheese. Turned out great! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was good, and very easy to whip up. I added a bit of extra cheese (havarti with dill, and some extra sharp cheddar) but I think it still could have used more flavor. The sour cream was a nice touch; made the sauce nice and thick. Everyone else in my family just loved this though. Especially popular with my one year old and my 5-year old! The "crust" of cheese on top was our fave part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was a great and quick dish for dinner. I used Muenster cheese with the cheddar, and it smelled so good while it was in the oven. The only thing I missed from my regular macaroni recipe was diced onions. I think I'll add them next time and it'll be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States