Herbed Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was a super easy recipe!! I decided to sautee some shallots, red pepper and a bit of mushroom in with the butter before making the cheese sauce. I didn't have "Italian Seasoning" so used oregano, dill and parsley, as well as a bit of garlic powder, onion powder and salt & pepper. I also seasoned the bread crumbs with these spices since they also called for Italian Seasoning. The result was so cheesy and delicious! Definitely a keeper, especially with how easy it was and how quickly dinner was on the table. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Keeper! Family loves flavor, and per hubby "it's not a pile of goo like most mac-n-cheese." Sour cream (I actually used plain yogurt) really rounded out the flavor. Also added hot dogs. Mm!! FYI-7 oz. is about a scant 2 cups elbow macaroni that comes in a bag (little bigger sized pasta than boxed macaroni meal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Added sauteed shrimp. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is great!! I have made it many times, the one thing that I have changed is I dice an onion and saute with butter before preparing the roux...adds the right texture and flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this today and it is wonderful. I used havarti with dill and cheddar. Instead of italian seasoning I used dill. I used a little garlic powder instead of the onion powder. This recipe is so easy and tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I like this recipe, but it calls for a bit too much Italian seasoning in my opinion. Its a very powerful seasoning and I like to taste the CHEESE. MMMMM. I definitely will be making again, just not using so much Ital seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very good. I crumbled some bacon on top when I baked it. Nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crevoiserat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Added some grated onion and shredded (instead of diced) all the cheese. Turned out great! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was good, and very easy to whip up. I added a bit of extra cheese (havarti with dill, and some extra sharp cheddar) but I think it still could have used more flavor. The sour cream was a nice touch; made the sauce nice and thick. Everyone else in my family just loved this though. Especially popular with my one year old and my 5-year old! The "crust" of cheese on top was our fave part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was a great and quick dish for dinner. I used Muenster cheese with the cheddar, and it smelled so good while it was in the oven. The only thing I missed from my regular macaroni recipe was diced onions. I think I'll add them next time and it'll be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States