Herbed Lentils and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
A favorite for my toddler. I love how simple this is to prepare in the morning for her lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Really wanted to like this but I did not. Seemed a little bland despite the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family LOVED this. I followed the recipe as written except I substituted water for the dry wine/broth. Both the rice and the lentils were perfectly cooked in about 1.5 hours. I will omit the additional salt next time and there will be lots of next times. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This dish was really good and my family really enjoyed it! I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder, but otherwise followed the instructions exactly. It was ready in about 80 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Pretty good; added 1 can of corn and 1c. of frozen peas. Also used 3c. broth and 1/2c. white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Made this as-is, minus the swiss cheese, which I think should be an optional ingredient. We didn't care for the mixed texture of the rice and lentils- myself, I love lentils, the boys like rice. Was hoping to get the boys to like lentils, didn't work with this recipe. The wine is a nice addition, but I wasn't 'wowed' by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I LOVE LOVE this recipe. I'm a vegetarian and I have been looking for a recipe with lentils that doesn't leave them tasting so bland. I will be making this many times in the future. I didn't have any vegetable broth, so I just used water, and I added mushrooms because I had a bunch on hand. I used a clove of garlic instead of garlic powder, and I replaced the thyme (not a fan) with cayenne pepper for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Hubby and I both like this dish. I'm trying to encorporate more lentils into our diets and less meat. I didn't have any brown rice on hand except instant so I used Jasmine rice and I also substituted fresh basil for the dry, I had no dry and I have six or seven basil plants in my kitchen. I only needed it to cook for 1 1/2 hours. Will make thsi again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My kids loved this dish. "It's the best thing you've made all year." I don't know if this is a good thing or a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I usually add 16 oz. sliced mushrooms (crimini work great), to add more substance and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States