Herbed Lentils and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
A favorite for my toddler. I love how simple this is to prepare in the morning for her lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Really wanted to like this but I did not. Seemed a little bland despite the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family LOVED this. I followed the recipe as written except I substituted water for the dry wine/broth. Both the rice and the lentils were perfectly cooked in about 1.5 hours. I will omit the additional salt next time and there will be lots of next times. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This dish was really good and my family really enjoyed it! I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder, but otherwise followed the instructions exactly. It was ready in about 80 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Pretty good; added 1 can of corn and 1c. of frozen peas. Also used 3c. broth and 1/2c. white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Made this as-is, minus the swiss cheese, which I think should be an optional ingredient. We didn't care for the mixed texture of the rice and lentils- myself, I love lentils, the boys like rice. Was hoping to get the boys to like lentils, didn't work with this recipe. The wine is a nice addition, but I wasn't 'wowed' by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I LOVE LOVE this recipe. I'm a vegetarian and I have been looking for a recipe with lentils that doesn't leave them tasting so bland. I will be making this many times in the future. I didn't have any vegetable broth, so I just used water, and I added mushrooms because I had a bunch on hand. I used a clove of garlic instead of garlic powder, and I replaced the thyme (not a fan) with cayenne pepper for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Hubby and I both like this dish. I'm trying to encorporate more lentils into our diets and less meat. I didn't have any brown rice on hand except instant so I used Jasmine rice and I also substituted fresh basil for the dry, I had no dry and I have six or seven basil plants in my kitchen. I only needed it to cook for 1 1/2 hours. Will make thsi again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My kids loved this dish. "It's the best thing you've made all year." I don't know if this is a good thing or a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I usually add 16 oz. sliced mushrooms (crimini work great), to add more substance and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States