Herbed Italian Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is really your basic Italian bread -use it with all your meals - not just "Italian" - makes the best toast for breakfast - I grew up with this. I use my bread machine - if I use seasonings (which are great), I add them with the rest of the ingredients as others have said. I substitute honey for sugar and use bread flour - sometimes I use 1 cup white whole wheat flour and add 1 T gluten - I bake at 375 F for 50 minutes - bread comes out crusty on the outside and soft inside. Lately I have been using 2 teaspoons yeast - works out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good side for any Italian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a quick easy recipe that tastes fantastic! I used this to make toasted garlic bread, and the kids were mad at me for wrecking the bread! This recipe will definitely become a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is just delicious but the instructions are preventing me from giving it 5 stars. First, I don't know why you would have to wait for the "beep" to add the herbs. Just add them at the beginning with the rest of the ingredients, there's no need to wait. Also, there may be more than one school of thought on this but I thought cutting slits in the loaf was not only to aid in the baking of the bread, but to aid in the rising. So I cut slits after shaping the loaf and before the final rise... you wont end up accidentaly punching it down this way too. This is especially good with additional spices and herbs. I like to add dried rosemary and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We LOVED this one. Would like the crust to be a bit crunchier... and saltier, to make it more like Macaroni Grill, but still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is good. Not sure why recipe says to add seasonings at fruit nut beep though. I just dumped it all in at the beginning and it was fine. I made the loaf into an italian style loaf by rolling out the dough then rolling it back up like you do with baguettes, except made one long loaf out of it. Had some with olive tapenade and it was great, but also good plain. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Not all that great. The flavor was just ok, I added garlic to give it a bit more too. I used regular flour rather than bread flour based on other reviews. The reason I'm giving this a 3 star is because the recipe severly underestimates the time it takes to make this bread. I printed it out thinking I'd have time to make this with dinner, only to realize that it did not account for the bread machine dough cycle. You'll need to add another 1-1.5 to the time. I'll stick to the other Italian bread recipes I've found on this site, I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I love this bread, but I recommend few definite changes if you've got the time. Mix this is a mixing bowl, make a starter of half the flour, all the sugar, water and yeast. Let that starter sit for 30 - 45 minutes. Then add the rest of the flour, knead on medium for 10 minutes, then add the salt and herbs and knead for another 5 minutes. On a table shape the dough into a tight ball, then put in a plastic bag spayed with nonstick spray and let sit in the fridge over night. In the morning, punch it down, shape it, let it rise until doubled (around an hour), then bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Like a prior reviewer, I used regular flour and added a tsp of garlic powder. This is an excellent bread!! It will definitely become a "must have" whenever we have Italian food. Great flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
YUM!! Reminds me of the wonderful bread that they serve at Macaroni Grill! Perfect for dipping with an herb infused olive oil. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will make it everytime it's Italian night at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITNEYB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States