Herbed Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This recipe makes the end product too hard to accomplish. Just peel the garlic and boil it with the potatoes. When the potatoes are done, drain them and place in mixing bowl. Add butter, milk, sour cream and whatever fresh herbs you have on hand ( rosemary, thyme, basil, oregano, parsley, etc.) whip to desired consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I would make this recipe again, but I think I would omit the thyme. Just too much for my taste. The roasted garlic gave it a very good flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
this was a good recipe...although not perfect. I would also cut down on the herbs, maybe to just the rosemary. Also i tried a rosemary garlic version of this where i roasted the garlic. I also boiled the potatoes with half the liquid consisting of water and half chicken broth and added garlic. Well ive tried many versions...you can always play with mashed potatoes. By far the best gravy i have ever had consisted of 2 cups of my chicken broth i boiled the potatoes in and the rest turkey stock and added chopped portobello mushrooms...it was to die for. I wouldnt use olive oil in mashed potatoes, use butter. You dont want that oily consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Okay, so I don't know how to make mashed potatoes, I admit it. But, I followed the recipe exactly, and what I got was potato soup! It's clear that the recipe should say: add liquid ingredients GRADUALLY, until potatoes are fluffy. If I'd done that, I bet it would have come out correctly. BEWARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
Although good, I think the amount of milk added to the potatoes makes the dish too watery. Less is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I liked these potatoes, but I made a few changes in them after reading some of the reviews. I did cut down on the herbs a bit and reduced some of the liquid so that they wouldn't be as runny. The result was good. They tasted very similar to what I would buy from a store brand boxed potatoes. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We loved these. I skipped the first part because I buy the bulk minced garlic at Sam's. I do like chicken broth in my potatoes so I used way less milk & some chicken broth. I usually always use butter but the olive oil was a very nice change. I am feeding a large family so I used way more potatoes. Everyone really loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I liked these mashed potatoes quite a bit -- however, if I make them again, I probably will cut down a bit on the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I thought it was kind of bland, so I added the broth I roasted the garlic head in and it turned out really good. The consistency of the potatoes was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Careful with the rosemary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States