Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is Ronna, the poster of this recipe. Everyone is right---it should NOT be a teaspoon of salt. 1/4 - 1/2, depending on your tastes, is plenty. Sorry for the Goof Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe! After reading the reviews I cut all the herbs in half and the flavor was perfect! I've tried many different dumpling recipies, including the baking mix, and I've never had such perfect fluffy dumplings. For those of you who get 'soggy, sinking, or gluey' dumplings you have to leave the lid on for the entire cooking time. If you lift it off before you will ruin your dumplings - every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tryna P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These were absolutely delicious! Delicate, light, fluffy, perfect dumplings. I did note the suggestion of the original poster (Ronnastefan) and cut back the salt to 1/4 to 1/2 tsp... This is such a versatile recipe with herbs that can easily be changed to complement any dish that would benefit from dumplings. Will definitely become one of my "go to" recipes. Thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Not what I was expecting.. They did come out fluffy, but seemed a little too overseasoned. I'll cut back on herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was good, and added some nice flavor to my chicken stew. After reading the other reviews, I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp and all the herbs to 3/4 tsp. I also added 1/2 tsp onion powder and used 1 cup buttermilk instead of 3/4 cup milk (to make it taste more like biscuits). This will replace my regular dumpling recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Yummy, throw them over hot beef stew in a crockpot, cover, and cook 30 minutes or until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
YUMMY! The first time i've ever made dumplings, and these were easy and very tasty, best i've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
My family liked these and thought they were fine, but I found them too salty and I followed the recipe precisely. So, if I ever make these again I think I'll cut back on the salt. It had the right amount of herbs though. I think a half teaspoon of salt would be fine, considering the soup or stew you're adding them to is bound to be salty enough on its own. Either I'd do that or I would use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made these exactly as specified. The were superb! I don't think I experienced the issue with the salt that others did since I always use homemade unsalted stock and unsalted butter when I make my stew/gravy. It is always best to adjust seasonings at the end, but if you use canned/prepared stock or cubes, go light on the salt and you can always add more towards the end. Thanks for a great recipe! Just like Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknclif

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
After reading the reviews,I left out the salt, cut the thyme and oregano to half a tsp and used a full tsp of parsley. These adjustments were just right for our tastes. I would make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States