Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made these dumplings last night. We loved them! My daughter even asked for seconds (she NEVER does that). After reading the other reviews: As one reviewer suggested I used (1 heaping tbsp.) Italian Seasoning instead of the individual spices. After reading about them having too much spice and/or being too salty: I omitted the salt completely and doubled the flour mixture (I wanted left overs). I made these dumplings for chicken and dumplings and they were wonderful for that. I will definitely be making these for other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were delish-light and fluffy!! I also cut back on the salt and oregano, and I used fresh thyme and parsley. Mine looked jud like the pic (except I cooked in my slow cooker with beef stew).If your making dumplings, listen to the other reviewers and DO NOT open the lid for at least 12-15 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made these with the herbs halfed down and salt paired down as well. I put them in the slowcooker with my chicken stew and they were a doughy dense mass..More like a dough tumor than a fluffy delightful dumpling. Maybe they aren't fit for slowcookers. I have to give 4 stars for ease and taste..if they came out nicer they'd definitely be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyDollPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Fabulous dumplings, the best that I have ever made. And they were so simple to make. I made no changes to this recipe and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
thanks it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
i like this recipe but they all broke apart and dissolved maybe i made them too small. but besides that they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I love this recipe - although the dumplings always come out pinkish in color when cooked in chicken broth, the flavor is worth it. Salt, herbs... you've always got to adjust them to taste, and at a full tsp, we actually liked them... but when I make these for guests, I cut it down to the 1/4 to 1/2 that all agree is the right amount! The dumplings seem to come out best if the "batter" is allowed to sit for a half hour or so, and the NO PEEKING WHILE COOKING rule should be followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
thank you very much for this recipe RONNASTEFAN. the dumplings turned out so nice and fluffy. i might add some bacon to them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These turned out great! Just like my mom used to make!! Light and fluffy, and huge!! They aren't doughy or gummy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These had GREAT flavor! As everyone before me I cut the salt and herbs to 1/2 tsp, awesome. The only disappointment is they are not as sturdy as bisquick dumplings, tend to be alittle to delicate, other than that they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesus loves You!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States