Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The only thing I cut back on was the salt. And I doubled the receipe because we love it so much. Thanks, keep these kind of recipes coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JailCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Good with or without the herbs. I use liquid oil in place of the butter to make it easier without problems. Good with any soup or stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time today and was very pleased. Luckily, I had read some of the reviews and cut back on the salt, but I was a bit suspicious of the amount to begin with and very likely would have cut it back anyway. These dumplings were light and delicious, very enjoyable. I added two tablespoons of sour cream with the milk because we enjoy that taste. I have to say one thing though, I used a tablespoon and a half cookie scoop to drop the dough in and I still got 22 dumplings. I can't imagine how you could 'drop by rounded tablespoons' would only yield 6 dumplings. I almost doubled the recipe - thank goodness I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very easy and delish! Changed some of the seasons to accommodate what I had available at home and it worked very well. Will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is the basic dumpling recipe I got from my mom without the herbs. It is 5-stars just "plain"; I'm sure the herbs add a whole other dimension. I won't make beef stew without these. And yes, cut the salt in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These were absolutely delicious! Delicate, light, fluffy, perfect dumplings. I did note the suggestion of the original poster (Ronnastefan) and cut back the salt to 1/4 to 1/2 tsp... This is such a versatile recipe with herbs that can easily be changed to complement any dish that would benefit from dumplings. Will definitely become one of my "go to" recipes. Thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I halved the salt and thyme and added half a teaspoon of basil. I like my dumplings herby. The flavor was awesome. Be careful not to cook for too long or the dumplings will dissolve; they add flavor and thickness to the broth if they dissolve, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Halve all the spices. awsome dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've used this recipe a few times-- it's fantastic! I make it with "chicken and dumplings II" from allrecipes.com. I accidentally used 3 teaspoons instead of 3 tablespoons tonight and it still turned out great! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Thankyou for this recipe Ronna,I have just made it,and They were lovely! I only needed just over 2/4 of the milk,and luckily read the reviews about the salt first ;) It is the first time I have attempted to make them from scratch,and Im so happy I did..Will always make my own from now on..And would recommend this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States