Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are very good dumplings. I recommend less salt and longer cooking time. I allow my dumplings to cook for about 25 minutes for my dumplings to be more like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These dumplings came out so tasty in our chicken and dumplings. Nice and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used this recipe as a starter one. I made a few changes..... like using whole wheat flour and soy milk. Also, added to the slow cooker at the last 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Really good, really simple, makes enough to fill a pot of soup. Listen to the other users and don't put in a whole teaspoon of salt, I think that must be a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Awesome! Did them in the slow cooker. They took about 45 minutes to an hour on low. I added garlic and onion powder and they needed a little more milk than written, but otherwise awesome! I used them with a beef stew recipe also from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are wonderful in chicken dumpling soup. First time making dumplings and this is easy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Tried these for the first time tonight. I did use the 1/2 tsp salt, but otherwise exactly is given. They were easy, quick and full of flavor. Really rounded out the chicken stew!! Plan to make many more times!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was fantastic! Absolutely no leftovers. There were too many herbs. I read the reviews a few days ago and forgot that people had suggested reducing the herbs and salt (mine weren't over-salted). They were super fluffy! I used buttermilk instead of milk and replaced 1/2 cup flour with whole wheat flour. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made these exactly as specified. The were superb! I don't think I experienced the issue with the salt that others did since I always use homemade unsalted stock and unsalted butter when I make my stew/gravy. It is always best to adjust seasonings at the end, but if you use canned/prepared stock or cubes, go light on the salt and you can always add more towards the end. Thanks for a great recipe! Just like Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknclif

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used heavy whipping cream and they all fell apart, but the soup is amazingly good. Better than before the dumpling mistake; tastes great! I will try this again. The flavor is great. I used fresh herbs and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States