Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at making dumplings. My South African husband hadn't even heard of them. I added them to the beef stew and wow, they tasted just like the ones my mother use to make. I only added 1/2 quantities of herbs as suggested and that was sufficient. Well done to me on a successful first attempt and well done to the lady that submitted the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I followed the advice of others and cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. I felt the herbs were a tad overwhelming, and next time I will use half of each. However, the fluffiness and texture of the dumplings was exactly what I was looking for. I will make again, but with less salt and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Went wonderful with Potato Soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blaize
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Excellent! Used on the Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings recipe. Just spooned them on for the last 1/2 hr of cooking. Also, did half the herbs/salt and was still very flavorful. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaize

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
awesome, I did not have thyme, or else I just have not found it yet since moving, so I used regular italian herb blend instead and the dumplings were terrific. I also make the dumplings in a seperate stock pot of boiling water so the left over soup does not turn all white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These are easy and tasted wonderful. They were very light and fluffy. I reduced the salt and took the thyme out since my husband is not a thyme fan. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The flavor of these were great. However, they were mushy. I flollowed the directions exactly, so I am not sure what happened. They were fluffy, but soggy. I was expecting a dryer center in them. I may try them again. I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are very good dumplings. I recommend less salt and longer cooking time. I allow my dumplings to cook for about 25 minutes for my dumplings to be more like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These dumplings came out so tasty in our chicken and dumplings. Nice and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used this recipe as a starter one. I made a few changes..... like using whole wheat flour and soy milk. Also, added to the slow cooker at the last 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States