Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
thanks it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
i like this recipe but they all broke apart and dissolved maybe i made them too small. but besides that they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I love this recipe - although the dumplings always come out pinkish in color when cooked in chicken broth, the flavor is worth it. Salt, herbs... you've always got to adjust them to taste, and at a full tsp, we actually liked them... but when I make these for guests, I cut it down to the 1/4 to 1/2 that all agree is the right amount! The dumplings seem to come out best if the "batter" is allowed to sit for a half hour or so, and the NO PEEKING WHILE COOKING rule should be followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
thank you very much for this recipe RONNASTEFAN. the dumplings turned out so nice and fluffy. i might add some bacon to them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These turned out great! Just like my mom used to make!! Light and fluffy, and huge!! They aren't doughy or gummy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These had GREAT flavor! As everyone before me I cut the salt and herbs to 1/2 tsp, awesome. The only disappointment is they are not as sturdy as bisquick dumplings, tend to be alittle to delicate, other than that they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesus loves You!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Good, but I did not use enough liquid and the pot I dropped the dumplings into was too small so it turned out like a biscuit topped stew. Husband and son were very impressed and liked the accidental results a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These dumplings are spectacular, even better than those I had growing up. The herb spice mixture makes the flavor pop, though in the future I will modify the spice mixture to suit our taste; the oregano in particular was a bit strong. I might reduce the thyme a little too. Spectacular recipe. FOLLOW UP NOTE: I prepared this for the second time, reducing the thyme, oregano, and dried parsley by 1/4, which for us was the perfect level of "herbed flavor." One final note: I used one part water and one part chicken broth in which to cook the dumplings, which leaves a wonderfully rich broth when the dumplings are gone, to which I added some canned chicken and frozen peas to make a deliciously rich soup for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My hubby n I just had these in chicken soup. Definitely will not make these again. I've made dumplings from my own recipe before and they came out lovely and just how I've had them in restaurants/other people's homes. Just thought I'd try someone else's recipe in case I've been doing it wrong all these years. Followed recipe to a tee but left the pot covered the entire cooking-time and reduced the salt as recommended in other reviews. Yet they ended up being the dumplings people have nightmares about - stodgy, gooey and mushed. Turned my yummy chicken broth into a thick, creamy gravy! There is no need for both baking powder and soda. In fact dumplings are ideally made with self-raising flour. The baking soda altered the taste of my soup and left a horrid taste in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSQUEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Perfectly awesome! I made these to go in the Beef Stew with Dumplings recipe on this site, and it was SO GOOD! To be fair, I never actually measure spices when adding them to recipes, I just shake 'em in, 'cuz I know how much I usually like. Biggest thing to remember when cooking the dumplings in a soup or stew... do NOT uncover the pot for at least 12 minutes after adding the dumplings - or they'll be gooey and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States