Herbed Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Good, but I did not use enough liquid and the pot I dropped the dumplings into was too small so it turned out like a biscuit topped stew. Husband and son were very impressed and liked the accidental results a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These dumplings are spectacular, even better than those I had growing up. The herb spice mixture makes the flavor pop, though in the future I will modify the spice mixture to suit our taste; the oregano in particular was a bit strong. I might reduce the thyme a little too. Spectacular recipe. FOLLOW UP NOTE: I prepared this for the second time, reducing the thyme, oregano, and dried parsley by 1/4, which for us was the perfect level of "herbed flavor." One final note: I used one part water and one part chicken broth in which to cook the dumplings, which leaves a wonderfully rich broth when the dumplings are gone, to which I added some canned chicken and frozen peas to make a deliciously rich soup for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My hubby n I just had these in chicken soup. Definitely will not make these again. I've made dumplings from my own recipe before and they came out lovely and just how I've had them in restaurants/other people's homes. Just thought I'd try someone else's recipe in case I've been doing it wrong all these years. Followed recipe to a tee but left the pot covered the entire cooking-time and reduced the salt as recommended in other reviews. Yet they ended up being the dumplings people have nightmares about - stodgy, gooey and mushed. Turned my yummy chicken broth into a thick, creamy gravy! There is no need for both baking powder and soda. In fact dumplings are ideally made with self-raising flour. The baking soda altered the taste of my soup and left a horrid taste in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSQUEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Perfectly awesome! I made these to go in the Beef Stew with Dumplings recipe on this site, and it was SO GOOD! To be fair, I never actually measure spices when adding them to recipes, I just shake 'em in, 'cuz I know how much I usually like. Biggest thing to remember when cooking the dumplings in a soup or stew... do NOT uncover the pot for at least 12 minutes after adding the dumplings - or they'll be gooey and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I adore this recipe. I use them whenever I make a soup or stew, lately. Super yum. Also great with finely chopped fresh herbs, and I add sage if I'm doing a chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Loved this recipe. Reduced the salt per reviews. I will play around with the herbs, based upon the type of soup I am making. This is my new standby dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very good dumplings. I was looking for a dumpling that didn't require stale bread and this one worked just fine. The spices add a lot of flavor to the dumplings so I might leave them out next time. Not that the flavor was bad, I just want to vary the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Nice, but the herbs are a bit too overpowering as another poster mentioned. After all, there's only 1-1/2 cups flour and dried herbs are strong. I have a secret for making fluffy, non-soggy dumplings that I learned from a recipe from the old Lawrence Welk resort: Steam the dumplings first! They are divine and not soggy, slimy or sticky on the outside. I use a parchment paper-lined steamer basket over simmering water. Drop by teaspoonfuls, cover and steam for 10 minutes. Then, I add to the soup or stew. Wonderful. But I do like this recipe for its use of leavening that helps the fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very light, nice flavour, really thickened up what would have been a bland watery soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yum Yum YUm! So simple and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abconover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States