Herbed Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This has become one of my favorite and best tasting recipes of this sort. However, some modifications were made as the original turned out to be a bit bland for my taste. I doubled the garlic, salt, pepper, and basil (and used fresh basil); also I increased the tomato and olive oil portions by 1/2. It turned out to be a mouth-watering flavorful diverse dish--highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
The taste of this dish is very good, but there is next to no "sauce". I belive the reviewers who suggested using canned diced tomatoes rather than fresh have the right idea. That might push the rating up to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
After seeing all the reviews on this recipe, I decided to take some of the suggestions and added a few of my own for this recipe. First, I tossed the chicken with a packet of the dried italian dressing sauteed that with the vegetables. Once all of the meat is cooked, I added a can of diced tomatoes with basil and 1/4 cup of chicken stock. Everything else I kept the same in the recipe. It turned out good with the changes I made. I don't think this will be something I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
We've made this a bunch of times and our whole family loves it! Even our picky 3 and 5-year-olds. It's quick and easy to make, and tastes so good. The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of McCormick's Chicken Base, when I add all of the seasonings and chicken to the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
After reading the reviews that said this recipe was bland, I decided to completely do away with measuring the spices and to make almost all the changes that were recently suggested. First, I used white wine to saute the veggies and added more when I added the chicken. I salted the chicken before adding it to the pan, then added LIBERAL amounts of pepper and basil plus a little bit of lemon zest. I didn't have canned tomatoes, so with the fresh ones I added a few spoonfuls of some spaghetti sauce I had in the fridge. It came out GREAT and was healthy to boot. But because the original recipe needed so much work, I gave it only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I found this recipe very bland, and not much taste at all. I even added additional spices when I cooked it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I used lemon olive oil to saute the mushrooms, onion and garlic in. I also doubled the garlic. Lemon pepper instead of ground black pepper was another change that I made. To make sure it was very moist, I used 2 15 1/2 ounce cans of diced tomatoes, including the liquid. The family is very happy tonight, they really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Arrigoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
There were so many helpful suggestions for this recipe. Following others' ideas, I used olive oil, added crushed red pepper, and substituted canned flavored tomatoes (drained and reserving the liquid to add as needed). I also added ALOT more garlic as a personal preference. Next time, I think I'll marinate the chicken cubes in Italian dressing (the chicken was a tad dry) and add a little tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce for a wetter, more tomato-ey sauce. This is a great starting point. You can really jazz up this recipe with some experimentation. Thank you, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Delicious pasta dish! I added a chopped green pepper, as well as some red pepper flakes. I used fresh basil and subbed crumbled feta cheese for the parm. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Followed recipe to a T and have to agree with some of the other reviews - no taste, too dry and just blah! No-one in the family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States