Herbed Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This has become one of my favorite and best tasting recipes of this sort. However, some modifications were made as the original turned out to be a bit bland for my taste. I doubled the garlic, salt, pepper, and basil (and used fresh basil); also I increased the tomato and olive oil portions by 1/2. It turned out to be a mouth-watering flavorful diverse dish--highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
The taste of this dish is very good, but there is next to no "sauce". I belive the reviewers who suggested using canned diced tomatoes rather than fresh have the right idea. That might push the rating up to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
After seeing all the reviews on this recipe, I decided to take some of the suggestions and added a few of my own for this recipe. First, I tossed the chicken with a packet of the dried italian dressing sauteed that with the vegetables. Once all of the meat is cooked, I added a can of diced tomatoes with basil and 1/4 cup of chicken stock. Everything else I kept the same in the recipe. It turned out good with the changes I made. I don't think this will be something I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
We've made this a bunch of times and our whole family loves it! Even our picky 3 and 5-year-olds. It's quick and easy to make, and tastes so good. The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of McCormick's Chicken Base, when I add all of the seasonings and chicken to the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
After reading the reviews that said this recipe was bland, I decided to completely do away with measuring the spices and to make almost all the changes that were recently suggested. First, I used white wine to saute the veggies and added more when I added the chicken. I salted the chicken before adding it to the pan, then added LIBERAL amounts of pepper and basil plus a little bit of lemon zest. I didn't have canned tomatoes, so with the fresh ones I added a few spoonfuls of some spaghetti sauce I had in the fridge. It came out GREAT and was healthy to boot. But because the original recipe needed so much work, I gave it only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I found this recipe very bland, and not much taste at all. I even added additional spices when I cooked it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I used lemon olive oil to saute the mushrooms, onion and garlic in. I also doubled the garlic. Lemon pepper instead of ground black pepper was another change that I made. To make sure it was very moist, I used 2 15 1/2 ounce cans of diced tomatoes, including the liquid. The family is very happy tonight, they really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Arrigoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
There were so many helpful suggestions for this recipe. Following others' ideas, I used olive oil, added crushed red pepper, and substituted canned flavored tomatoes (drained and reserving the liquid to add as needed). I also added ALOT more garlic as a personal preference. Next time, I think I'll marinate the chicken cubes in Italian dressing (the chicken was a tad dry) and add a little tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce for a wetter, more tomato-ey sauce. This is a great starting point. You can really jazz up this recipe with some experimentation. Thank you, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Delicious pasta dish! I added a chopped green pepper, as well as some red pepper flakes. I used fresh basil and subbed crumbled feta cheese for the parm. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Followed recipe to a T and have to agree with some of the other reviews - no taste, too dry and just blah! No-one in the family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States