Herbed Chicken Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Usually it drives me crazy when people post reviews of recipes they have changed so much it hardly is even the same recipe that it began as. Hopefully I did not go TOO far, but I do acknowledge I changed quite a few things in this recipe. Anyways, for my breading I used 1/3 cup of regular bread crumbs, 1/3 cup of Panko, about 3 TBS of granulated Parmesan, a few shakes of seasoned salt and 1/2 TSP of the following: black pepper, cayenne pepper, thyme, parsley and basil. I wanted to cut some of the calories/cholesterol, so I used around 1 cup of 2% milk with a few TSP of white vinegar and eighty-sixed the eggs as well as the oil in the breading. I used 2 very large chicken breasts (probably 1.75 lbs) which I cut in half the long way before cutting into bite sized pieces. Several reviewers suggested cooking these longer, so I decided to cook them for 20 minutes, I was making mashed cauliflower and forgot to take them out until closer to 25 minutes, but they were perfect. Also, I baked them on a rack I placed over a cooking sheet so they would not be soggy on the bottom or require me to flip them. Whipped up a very easy honey mustard sauce to go with these -- about 60/40 spicy brown mustard and honey respectively then flavor it with black pepper to taste and add a little mayo at a time until the consistency is perfect – but obviously that is just my preference. Great recipe, it is beyond me how as of now this is not the highest rated nugget recipe on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learntosink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I decided to make this chicken as full breasts, instead of cutting them into nuggets. The final result was juicy and crispy, tasted like fried chicken, only healthier! Like the other reviewes suggested, I did not add the oil to the mix. I drizzled it over the chicken while it was on the baking sheet, after being breaded. Also, I didn't have wheat germ, so I used a 3/4 cup of bread crumbs, garlic salt, table salt, red pepper and minced onion. This recipe was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These are great, I just added some ground flax seed as well as wheat germ and used whole wheat bread crumbs instead of white, and instead of the vegetable oil I used a flavourless coconut oil because the health benefits are far better. The only reason I gave it a 3 out of 5 was because there are some better healthier options you could have applied, but excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I really didn't like this recipe, unfortunately. It was very dry and bland. Maybe someone else will have better luck, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious! I used more Italian bread crumbs instead of the wheat germ. I also omitted the oil and instead sprayed the chicken with cooking spray before putting in the oven. I left it in the oven for a little over 20 minutes and they came out nice and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were a big hit with my 6 year old! He was so excited to see chicken nuggets. They were super easy and came out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Made these for my husband and son, just used 1 cup bread crumbs and no wheat germ. They gobbled these up, and the recipe makes a lot of chicken nuggets; more than they could eat and that is saying something! My son is 2 and loved these, so I think they are kid friendly. Served them with mashed potatoes and steam bag veggies, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Quite delicious. No changes! Really great homemade nuggets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved these nuggets. Easy to make, very tender and juicy, good flavor. Cooking time was perfect. I made them just like the recipe using all bread crumbs (have never used wheat germ but will try it next time) and olive oil instead of veg. Maybe my pinch of red pepper was small, but my very picky kids both had two helpings. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I combined this recipe with another nugget recipe on this site. I added 2 tablespoons of sesame seeds. These turned out really well, but I think when I make this recipe again, I'll either double the spices or I'll add more of a different spice as they turned out a little bland. Making a dipping sauce on the side helped. I loved the addition of the wheat germ and none of my family members noticed that's what was coating their chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States