Herbed Chicken in Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
An easy-to-prepare gourmet entree. I served for a dinner party of 9 and it was a huge success. Everyone loved it. Accompanied chicken with green salad, corn and homemade cranberry sauce. An excellent meal. Will definitely use this recipe again for future entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very easy elegant recipe, for my "non-loving herb" teenage I used cream cheese instead of the herb cheese and she loved it. I sliced the breast lengthwise to make sure the full breast cooked in the alotted time and it turned out great, it also made for a little lighter meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I like the idea of this, but I couldn't find Puff Pastry at the store, and was told by a store emloyee to use phyllo dough instead. Whatever you do, do not use phyllo dough with this recipe!! It isn't anything like puff pastry (I never used phyllo before, I went with the employee's suggestion--my mistake!). I realized that there may be a problem while I was assembling the packets, but it was too late to turn back. I'll try again with the right puff pastry, and will probably give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was delicious!I used filo dough - as it is much less fattening than puff pastry dough, but still gives the same crusty look. I used 2 sheets of filo for each chicken cutlet to make individual packets. (I sprayed PAM in between the sheets.) I coated the chicken with Ken's lite honey-mustard salad dressing which gave excellent flavor to the chicken. I brushed the top with an egg wash and sprinkled it with sesame seeds - I baked it for about 30 minutes - It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was really delicious! I made my own garlic herb cream cheese instead of using the store-bought stuff. I softened an 8-ounce brick of cream cheese then whipped it with 2 Tbs of milk and added minced garlic, salt and pepper, onion powder, and some dried herbs (parsley, thyme, basil), and some minced fresh rosemary. I cut the chicken into cubes and seasoned it with salt and pepper prior to sauteeing it. This made it easier to eat; we were able to pick them up and eat them, kind of like a Hot Pocket. I'll definitely make these again, but I'll double the amount of cheese in the filling next time, because it wasn't enough as-written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was pretty tasty but a little dry and I used extra cheese spread (Boursin). I altered the direction by cutting the chicken breast in chunks and then mixing with the cheese spread. I will make again using the same method but will marinate the chicken first for mor flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great/pretty easy dish! Made a few changes . . . 1. If your chicken breasts are pretty thick you can cut them in half the long ways. That's what I did so I only had to use "2" actual chicken breasts. 2. Season, season, season the chicken!! 3. Just brown the outside of the chicken - don't cook all the way through otherwise the chicken could dry out when you bake it. 4. I had a hard time spreading the cream cheese with a spoon so I ended up using my fingers - way easier! 5. I did cream cheese then dried parsley then shredded cheese and then chicken. 6. Maybe lightly grease the pan before you add the pastry pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is a family favorite that we like to share with our friends. A great gourmet meal served with Dominican Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I thought this was ok but my husband really liked it. I think if I had added more seasoning to the chicken it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States