Herbed Beef in Salt Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this recipe for all cuts of beef but especially Prime Rib. I've been using it for years and every time I make it I have to share the recipe. I cooked it exactly as stated but have found a secret to make the crust stay on better. Add equal parts flour and salt then mix with water. Cook the roast about 20 minutes then remove and repair any cracks with leftover salt/flour mixture. I also use a disposable foil roasting pan with a cookie sheet underneath for support.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
When I lived in Brazil, I saw at numerous occasions that they do it this way with the salt crust and every time it had been a huge surprise as to how tender and tasty the meat were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magician176

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made this for dinner. It was the best roast beef I ever made! I made one little tweak: added 2T balsamic vinegar to the marinade. This cooked pretty quickly; faster than my calculations. I was sure I dried it out especially because the crust cracked. But I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect. I would make it again (and again). Thank you Marc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is also awesome with a pork loin; in fact I do it with pork loin instead of beef most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I was hesitant with all the salt, but it was truly unbelievable! Letting it sit for 15-20 minutes after wards, really helped sealed in the juices. We are making this for guests on New Year's Eve because I am confident they will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
When I make a beef roast at the holidays, this is the Only one I make. It is perfect and if it isn't broke, who am I to try and fix it? This could not be more simple, marinade the meat, make a salt paste and build it up around the roast. use foil to line the pan, this is Very important! When you go to clean up, you will Thank me! Trust me, you have better things to do then try and scrape salt off your roasting pan:) This roast browns up beautifully. While it cooks, the salt hardens, just break it off. Do Not Worry about the saltiness, not overly salty. Try it once and you too will be telling your friends about it too! Thank You Marc, You Rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I am making this again tonight but first made it back in 2003 (?). It was an easy was to prepare the tenderloin while we entertained our guests. As others mentioned, the salt crust presentation is a fun novelty, enjoyed by the guests. 12/2010 update: used a 6 pound tenderloin for a larger crowd. Turned out great. Warning: leftover meat is really, really salty the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Excellent !! The beef still juicy and moist. I used eye round beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Quite salty, but very tasty just the same. Reminded us of corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States