Herbed Batter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Great rolls! Next time I will change up the seasoning a bit, but the rolls had a very good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I wanted to make some rolls to go with "Penne with Shrimp" also found here (great recipe BTW), and came across these little gems. I also knew I wanted batter rolls but I've been advised by my doctor to add more whole wheat breads to my diet so I proceeded to alter these rolls accordingly. (BTW I decided to change the flavor profile to match the dinner I was having!) Just so you know I increased the serving size to 12, therefore the following amounts correspond to that number: used a ratio of 1-1/4 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup AP flour, added 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese, added 1 Tbsp. Italian seas. and 1 tsp. garlic powder, used 1 tsp. reg. salt and 1/2 tsp. onion salt, used required amount but sub'd light margarine for butter, used 6 Tbsp. liquid egg substitute for 1-1/2 eggs, used only 2 Tbsp. sugar and omitted the nutmeg, sage and tarragon. I ended up getting 24 medium-sized rolls. They didn't rise very much so next time I might add back that other Tbsp. of sugar, but otherwise they turned out great. I'm sure I'll be making them again soon. Thanks for the recipe and the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I tried this recipe and made some changes like using basil, chives and dill. They were yummy the first day but the second day they just don't seem as moist and they were in a sealed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These were way too soupy I made them in a bread machine and had to add almost twice as much flour . . . trust me, I thought I checked closely, but guess not. Once the extra flour was added, there was not enough seasoning to flavor the rolls. Too much work for lackluster flavor. Gave it a three because the error was possibly my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I really love nutmeg. It's my favorite spice. But it didn't taste very good in these at all. These rose nice and had a good texture, but I'll omit the nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie&Pablo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
There was just okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Instead of putting them in a muffin try I just used a cookie sheet. They make for great burger buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I loved these! They were moist... I loved the herbs. I didn't change the recipe at all and left it the way it was. I don't think I would do anything differently. The cooking time was more like 12-13 minutes on my end. And even then they turned out a little more brown then I would have liked. But they were still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made these rolls for dinner one night. They were good, but they weren't the best dinner rolls I've ever tried. My family liked them they smelt really good while baking. Super easy to make!! I'll probably make them again because they were so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Best rolls ever! My family begs for these rolls. The spices are excellent without being overpowering. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States