Herbed Batter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
VERY easy to make, and a wonderful herby flavor. I knocked one star off only b/c the texture to me wasn't like a roll or biscuit. It was almost more like bread - very airy and fluffy. The lack of density is what I missed. But the taste is outstanding. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Good base for great rolls, would go good with soup or stew. Gonna try to sub the herbs for parm cheese and garlic powder and italian seasoning. Very tasty, smell up the kitchen pretty good. Plus easy and you have most of the ingredients in your pantry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warmond, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyBugMomma
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I would give it 5 stars, but I just don't feel I am an expert on breads or rolls yet. Here's the scoop. I've recently been the lucky recipient of a beautiful stand mixer (gift from the hubby). We started (desperately trying) to make bread, and no success!! So, I said to my BORED 14 year old son..."why don't you show us how it's done?". I suggested he puts his parents bread making efforts to shame. The first batch (yes he made two batches the same day) he asked me a couple of questions. Do I just crack the egg in the bowl, is this smooth and how long should it rise? He made the first batch 97% on his own. The recipe says to scoop into 8 muffin cups. THEY WERE HUGE! The 3 kids and I chomped them down! But wait, dad didn't get any yet! So my son moved on to a second batch. 100% on his own. It made 11 this time. (I think 10 makes them the perfect size) They are delish to us! The flavor is great. I think mom will try them next time and expirement with a little fresh grated parm cheese & herbs on top. Oh, one more thing, about 1/2 way through cooking we brushed them with melted (real butter) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Quick, easy, delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
These were really good like another reviewer noted they are like a cross between a dinner roll and a muffin but they are delicious. Can't wait to make them again with other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Not sure if the original is worth a 5, but I altered the recipe which is why I'm giving it a 5. I used 2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast, 1/2 tsp sugar 1/2 cup warm water, 1 cup plus 4 Tbsp flour, 1 Tbsp Oil, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp oregano 1/2 tsp basil, and 2 Tbsp Parmesan cheese. All I can say is YUM YUM...straight from the lips and onto the hips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
These are very easy to make. Cross between a biscuit and a hearty dinner muffin. It went well with the Italian Sausage Soup on this site. I did 'tweek' it a bit on the spices, I added parmesan cheese (from the can), Italian seasoning and garlic powder instead of sage, tarrogon, and nutmeg due to having an Italian dinner. But the basis of this recipe IS a keeper! I'm sure with different meals, your mind could go wild and the list could be endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these rolls last night for a family Christmas celebration. They had a good flavor, but they seemed to be a little heavy. I prefer a lighter yeast roll. For the amount of time they take though, they are worth the effort. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I can't imagine any easier roll recipe, and this is easy and good enough to whip up for guests. I didn't have sage and substituted Italian seasoning. I would imagine this recipe is a good jumping off place for many herb combinations. I got 9 rolls out of the recipe, but I would try for 12 next time because I thought they were a little too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
There is no doubt that this is one of the best rolls recipes I have ever had. My husband almost prefered the rolls over the main course. This recipe will definately be used again and again. Thank you for the recipe, I only wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States