Herbed and Spiced Roasted Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe was delicious! I made this rub with dried rosemary and thyme(using only 2 tsp instead of 2 tbsp.) since I did not have fresh on hand. I added about a tsp of water to hydrate the herbs before adding the oil. I also substituted a pearl onion already in the frig for the shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I made this roast for Christmas and the good quality of the meat with the fresh herbs and spices made this the most delicious holiday meat I've tasted. The cloves especially add the festive flavor and blend well with the meat. I made it with roasted garlic mashed potatoes and honey glazed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Ok I must have done something wrong. I used the rub and it made the house smell wonderful while cooking. When we started eating the dish, we couldn't taste the rub. I don't know what I did wrong. I will try again to see if it was my blunder. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Wow, what a great rub!! Every year we are invited to visit some friends up north for a snowmobiling/ice fishing weekend. This year I decided to bring dinner for Saturday night. We used this rub on an 8 lb. tenderloin (had to make 4 times the recipe) and it was a huge HIT!!! The aroma from the rub/roast filled the house with a wonderful smell and the taste matched the smell. Even my 9 year old loved it. Thanks Eileen for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
this was my first attempt with making a marinade and it turned out awesome! I hosted a dinner party and one of my guests is a chef! I had to make this good - and it turned out awesome! People are still talking about it - the only thing I changed was that I added lemon zest instead of orange zest. I also only chilled for 2-3 hours, so I can imagine how much better it would have been had I left it longer. It cant possibly get any better though thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Instead of blending in the food processor, I put everything in a bowl and just rubbed over the beef tenderloin. Left out the orange peel and substituted some orange juice in its place; didn't have six hours to marinade but it didn't matter. This was pretty darn tasty; I put seasoning salt and fresh ground pepper on the tenderloin as well but still added those two seasonings to the mix as well. Took longer to cook. Served with a tomato/basil/fresh mozzerella salad and the pan fried asparagus recipe from this site. Great meal. Drank Zinfandel which complemented the meal tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Made this for Christmas dinner. Got good reviews from the family (not young kids). However, I could not get the rub to be smooth enough in the food processor. This should have been done in a spice grinder or w/ mortar & pestle. As it was, we had to scrape rosemary from the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great recipe, thanks for sharing! Did not use the orange zest, nutmeg, or cloves. Cut way back on the salt (1/2 tsp. for a 1 1/2lb. roast) and served with beef gravy (using drippings from pan) and a starch and a veggie for the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this recipe for Christmas 2009. My only problem was with the roast time, it took longer than 35 minutes to roast, approximately 1 1/2 hrs for 2 roasts. They came out perfect. My guests just loved it, the flavor and aroma in the house was awesome. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! Flavorful and fantastic. I made no changes, prepared exactly as instructed and it came out perfect. Will make this again! Perfect easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States