Herbal Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was pretty good! I'd made it a long time ago, and forgotten how it was, so decided to make it again. Didn't have any sour cream so substituted Greek yogurt. Also, I decided to add diced green onions (four for this recipe size) because I love green onions, and I felt the lemon would be too sweet (Meyers lemons). I suggest combining the ingredients as you put the eggs to boil. This gives the flavors a chance to meld. Then, once the eggs are done let them cool for an hour before blending it all into a "sauce." Combine remaining ingredients and then let it sit in the refrigerator over night to set up a bit. Served with home made dill crackers for an awesome lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
With few adjestments I added italian seasoning with the little rosemary and dill, added onions, mustard, salt, pepper and took out the sourcream, lemon zest and worcestershire sauce and made it like a regular tuna salad nice and chunky... next time I think im going to add a little lemon zest to give it a little zing... other then great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love tuna salad for lunch - this was a bit different with the addition of Worcestershire sauce which I haven't seen in many tuna salad recipes. I used light mayo, light sour cream, dijon for the prepared mustard and added a little garlic powder. Since you're adding lemon zest, you may as well add a couple squirts of fresh lemon juice. I didn't bother putting this into the food processor but rather choppped the eggs very fine and added some chopped celery as well. Overall, if I made this again I might leave out the Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I used 2 eggs but halved the rest of the ingredients (because I only had 1 can of tuna). I didn't have lemon zest so I substituted a squirt of lemon juice. I did put everything in a food processor before mixing with the tuna. Glad I did because I didn't need to use half of the sauce (so I saved it in the refrigerator for later, when I can get more tuna). I also mixed in a chopped green onion. Since I'm trying to live without bread, I ate it on celery sticks and also made a lettuce leaf burrito. Both were delicious! Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was very good and quite healthy and low in carbs/sugar. I cut this down to three servings, added a couple chopped garlic dill pickles and that was just enough for my boys and I. I left theirs on whole wheat bread but I had mine mixed up with a little shredded cabbage and it really was super filling. Next time, I think I could get away with a little less mayo and sour cream, but as is, we all enjoyed it. Thanks! NOTE: I also did not puree any ingredients. We like ours a little chunkier so that worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Did not puree eggs and dressing. Taste was okay, nothing exciting. Herb flavor is a little strong and I even went light on the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was really good! I loved all the different flavors! I did use 4 eggs instead of 2 but left everything else the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is a nice change from the same old tuna. I omitted the egg, but followed everything else exactly. I tasted as soon as I made it and thought it was ok, but after it was refrigerated for a few hours and the flavors had an opportunity to meld it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very good! I loved the flavor combinations in this. The lemon was very subtle, but refreshing. I've never been one to enjoy egg in my tuna salad, so I omitted that. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is the best tuna salad recipe I have ever had. I added fresh parsley, and used 1 tsp lemon juice instead of the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States